dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

I will try to find my place

2008-03-08
Not hung over. Which is a surprise, slightly. Yesterday I went into the city and picked up a paycheck (which was larger than expected, always good) got a sandwich, and came home and cleaned. We organized some stuff in the living room, and tried to vacuum, but the vacuum is nearly dead, and we didn't quite finish with that. Oh well. It was fun. Madeline and I went through bags of cloth scraps and art supples and stuff. I scored a pair of pants. Not that I need more. But they're nice and comfortable and stuff.
John picked me up and we drive up to connecticut to visit his friend Rob. What ridiculousness. I like Rob. But it was all about the guns. So we looked at and took apart guns for a while, and went down to the basement and lit gunpowder, and set off some fireworks in the sink, and Rob shot a phone book. Hijinks galore. It was fun, though, and I didn't feel like I was intruding on a friendship, and Rob didn't seem to feel like a third wheel at all. We ate pizza and I drank a lot of straight vodka. About 6 or 7 shots, I think. I am the one who usually pukes after 4 drinks, so this was mildly impressive. I think after a while it was making me more sober. Kind of felt that way at any rate.
Rob's house is pretty nice. The neighborhood doesn't have sidewalks, and there are lots of trees. It's a one bedroom, I think, but all of the rooms are oversized, and he has a full huge basement and a garage. Nice set-up. After playing with firearms for a while, John set up the wii, and they played Manhunt for a while, and then Resident Evil 4. I curled up in a chair and watched intermittently. It was getting late (we didn't get there till about 8pm) and the combination of having been up for a while and alcohol were making me crash. At about 4am John realized what time it was, and we left. It had taken us about 3 hours to drive up, but going back it took a little over an hour, which was good. We curled up and tried to sleep through the day until he had to go to work. My room gets really warm I've noticed. If the window is closed, my comforter is almost too warm, which makes me worry about what will happen when spring and then summer come along. I'll have to get fans. This is quite a turnaround from my old place, where I would huddle under blankets with my feet pressed to the radiator.
So now I'm tired and headachey, though I think that's more from the fact that I haven't eaten yet than a hangover. I have a party to go to, so that's good. It should be fun, though I'm pretty tired and having to talk myself into going. I think I'm going to bring Nilla wafers as my contribution. They make life happier. Or Pirates Booty. Hmm.
5:37 p.m.
prev :: next