dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

Do I talk about anything but work?

2009-11-01
I have not made much progress on the spreadsheet. Whatever. I have, though, realized that with the money I have coming in at the moment, provided that this place likes my drafting and hires me on a trial period, I can bail on this office spreadsheet work after the next week or so. I'll probably stay for 2, because that means a whole paycheck period. But yes. Hurray! No more boring office spreadsheets! After I finish this. Also, their office was the most office-y looking office, in that really drab depressing way. It didn't even have that many cubicles, but still managed to be just painfully stifling and beige. Plus, I have a ladle of guilt attached to it, now that I've been avoiding and working at home and not quite doing as much work as I should be doing. And my response to that kind of guilt is to just disappear and not deal with it, and continue to feel faintly guilty whenever I think about it. I find this tends to work well with most things.

The next couple weeks are going to be a little nuts. This week I have 3 full days of electrician work, then back into the office for a couple days. I have to start going to rehearsals for this small but colorful show that I'm doing next, and tech for that starts next weekend. And then as soon as that gets going I have another design, Into the Woods, for the Columbai students. Which I love, and I like working with them, but it's coming right on the heels of the other thing, and I have no idea if I can actually pull this off. But- I let the columbai students know that, and they wanted me to do it anyway. I suspect that they partially didn't want to go through the hassle of finding some one else, but it's still nice to be liked, as well.

Pidgeon has developed this habit of needing to lie on my when I use the computer. Either on my stomach/lap, or curled up on my right side. And, oh, it has to be the right. I have tried gently suggesting the left, but clearly, there is something wrong with that side. She will have nothing to do with it. It's mostly pretty cute, but it does hamper the hand movements sometimes. Good thing she's pretty cute.

Also cute, this morning a pigeon landed on my windowsill. Pidgeon leapt for it! The pigeon flew away.

6:00 p.m.
prev :: next