dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

Rose red, rose red

2008-03-06
Somehow, while typing, the cursor manages to not be in the box right about when I need to delete a typo, and I hit backspace, and it takes me back a page, and whatever brilliant entry I had just been concocting is gone. This happens more often than it should. And then I get fed up and blame diaryland (rather than myself or my keyboard or something) and boycott for a few days. But hi. I'm back. The grudge can only last so long.
So I moved, and I arranged. I did my geeky thing of making a vectorworks drawing and playing with all the layouts possible. It was tough to decide, I gave myself too many choices, and had to ask outside opinions. It's not that I need to follow someone else's idea, it's that once I hear what someone else thinks, I can better define if I agree with them. I need people to bounce things off of. Silly, I know. And I'm capable of working without that, but I like it. It's a big but narrow room, 8'3"x16'9", which unnerved me at first. When I first visited and saw it, there was stuff in it, and I didn't look that long and so I remembered it wider. But now I've arranged the furniture in it, and am in the laborious process of finding places for aeverything, it seems bigger. And with the bookshelves on one wall and my desk and dresser on the other, I could still lie down and do floor angels in the middle, so it's not that narrow. I like how things define a space, and how spaces always looks so much smaller without things. When we finished loading everything into the uhaul, John was surprised at how small my old room was. But it wasn't. He said he'll miss it, and that it was me. I sort of agree, but I think this place will be much better eventually.
We painted yesterday. I am clearly not the best painter ever. Oh well. It's three different blues, fading into each other, with the ceiling being a night skyish. The blending didn't go so well. But it is nice. It's blue and pretty. I did a rather terrible job on the ceiling, it's all angular blotches, but it's kind of growing on me. I hates it last night, but it's kind of fascinating to stare at.
I thought painting would be all happy and we would listen to Selected Shorts and it would be fun and happy. Somehow I was fairly tense, though, and when we had finished minorly freaked out about what a terrible mess everything was, with all the furniture pushed in and stuff piled up. I had to lie down and chill out for a little. I'm not sure why I freaked out. John said he has his suspicions but was keeping them to himself. I want to know. We're going to try further blending it with paint thinner. I hope that works.
We were really hungry by the end, and decided to make chili. Which was a great idea untill we remembered that chili is supposed to simmer for several hours. And he had to go pick up a friend from the airport in several hours. So we made it anyway, and ate a bunch of cheese and crackers. Yesterday Tenaya and I had wandered around and ended up buying cheese at a surprisingly cheap place. I got sharp french goat cheese, and something else. It's not havarti and I'm completely blanking, and the chunk I got isn't labeled, but it was really good, and it had herbs and pepper in it. One of these days I'll remember and be horrified that I was ablet o forget such a thing.
As usual, I need work. Oog. I should go chase some down. I should also cease to sit in my paint reeking room. It's not that bad, but really. It's still killing the brain cells.
8:09 a.m.
prev :: next