dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

Black and bay, dappled and gray

2008-03-02
Wow. Um. I was going to dive right into talking about moving, but diaryland. New format. Will take getting used to. I wasn't sure I was on the right page for a second. Anyway. Right.
So, I moved! craziness. It was fun, as much so as moving can be. John was wrecked by the end of it, and I was just exhausted. The girl whose room I'm moving in to had her apartment fall through, so she's still here. I still got to move in, I'm so happy that didn't dominoe onto me. It sucks, though, she's staying the 3rd bedroom, but monday evening the third roommate moves in. She's desperately trying to find a place, and might end up staying in the living room for up to 2 weeks. I'm happy because I was supposed to pay her for this half of the month (they do rent on the 15th) and now I have been released of that. Which is great. And I'm glad she's staying a bit because that means her cats are staying for now. They've been running around and exploring my stuff and keeping me company. I like having cats around.
I went to see my new roommates show last night with Zina. She's an aerialist who teaches silks, and has been taking a bit of static trapeze, and this was a kind of a showcase of stuff. Mostly aerial silks. More than I expected, and it gets repititious, but they were really good, and did a bunch of stuff I hadn't seen before, and Madeline is getting pretty good at trapeze. It had a general storyline of pirates and mermaids and such, and they completely won by making jellyfish out of umbrellas. That was pretty awesome.
I'm telling the day all out of order. We got the uhaul truck, and started clearing out my room. I had some stuff that hadn't gotten packed yet, but that didn't hold us up much. Most of it was delicate and I wanted it to ride up front anyway.
On the other end, it was a little awkward. The parking spot we got was right next to the intersection, and there was just the two of us, so we kept closing the back and hoping no one would get curious, which worked out. And we didn't prop the door open until halfway through, so I kept having to unlock it, and then up two lights of a narrow twisty staircase, into the apartment, having to close the door behind us so the cats wouldn't run out. Interestingly enough, some stuff was easier to move in that it had been to extract from my place, like the floppy floppy futon that we had rolled up and tied. Somehow that was much easier to get up.
We finished around one (oh, yes, also I got a parking ticket. The meter wasn't registering coins. One meter maid came by and said we were fine, the meter was broken, and we could stay another hour. Then another came by half an hour later and said he didn't give a shit, and we could contest the ticket. I tried to show him that you put the coin in and nothing happened, and it chose that moment to work. What the hell. Oh well. So I dunno if it's worth contesting.) and drove back to uhaul. We were both incredibly hungry and really wanted burgers, so we went to his house and made burgers and played with the cat. I got full approval on the neighborhood from everyone there. And then straight from there to meet Zina to go to the show. I probably should have gone tonight, but i didn't really think too well about that. So I went, and it was fun, but I was exhausted and sleepy and I didn't get home (home!) till after 11, and then I had to cut the ties on my futon, dig out a couple blankets,a nd curl up there. I slept kind of terribly, at some point I thought that Heather was movning out, that I heard people carrying stuff out and walking back and forth. I thought how fortunate for her finding an apartment and people willing to help her move at 5 am. It was probably more like 2 or 3, I realized, when I woke up at 4 45 and actually looked at my phone. The cats were also not conducive to sleep. Oh well.
This morning I gave up on sleeping and put my bed back together. Not a fun thing to do by oneself, but I managed, with minimal loud noises. Now I have to do laundry so I can put all the bedding back on. I might take a nap first. And eat. Starting to get pretty hungry.
9:56 a.m.
prev :: next