dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

In the city

2007-12-27
I'm at my aunt's, which is fantastic. I've been watching way too much tv. But I did finish some books. And I found the anthology of amnesia stories that I (ha) forgot here about 4 months ago. It's so nice to hang out with real cats. Leslie's cat bites you every time you try to pet it, and attacks your feet when you don't, so it's pretty hard to interact with. I spend a lot of time kicking him out of my room. I was a little gunshy about petting these guys at first, but I've readjusted to the fact that normal cats like to be petted. They sleep on me a lot. and sometimes chase each other around.
I went to John's for christmas eve. It was very nice. Very informal. The food was really good (though largely of the lobster/prawn/shrimp/crayfish variety, which I am not so big on. It was good anyway)and served on fancy china, but it was very relaxed. His grandmother was there, and she was really nice. Quiet, but after a bit I got the sense that she was pretty playful and generally amused by things. John and his brother and sister and I went upstairs and played Rock Band for a while. Well. They played and I watched. After a bit we went down for dessert, which was fatastic. All sorts of random bits, ferrero rochers and taffy and peppermint chocolates and truffles; but then also the italian deserts, particularly cannoli, which I had. I used to get cannoli mixed up with manicotti. At least in name. And I'd never actually had one before. I went up and tried to play rock band, and was doing decently on bass until it was time to open presents. That was the part that had made me unwilling to come over that night, but John kept asking, and then his mother said I should, so I braved the family time. It was fine. They got me a couple of shirts, nice ones, and it was very informal. At my house, we go around in a circle and take turns; there they just handed them all out, and go at it. All in all, I'm very glad I got over myself and went. I spent the night there and John drove me back in the morning. Since then, I have done nothing but eat read sleep and watch tv. It's been nice, but I'm glad I'm leaving the house today. Going to go see Sweeney Todd, and then John and I are going to cook. I love cooking with him. And speaking of which, I just realized that I had planned to leave the house in 10 minutes. I don't think that'll quite happen.
9:28 a.m.
prev :: next