dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

Like friendly wine

2007-11-24
Hibernation mode has hit full on. After all my sleeping yesterday, I went and had dinner with John, and then came home, played around on the internet until a little after one, and then passed out until about 11. I woke up a few times this morning, but it was easy to ignore that and go back to sleep. I was kind of curious about how long I could keep going. I think I could have kept on sleeping, but I need to do stuff today. Or something. I had a really weird dream that involved my parents having a minivan. It was huge. It started out as a honda civic, and kind of still was at the end, but then I got out and realized that there were at least 3 rows of seats behind the driver. Earlier in the dream had to do with Sex in the City. And with me having a kid. I decided to adopt one, I guess. It was going pretty well, I think. Around the part with the minivan there were a bunch of my friends from totally different parts of my life and they all seemed to know each other. Anyway.
All I want to do is sleep and eat. Fortunately wanting to sleep all the time means I'm really lazy, so I probably won't eat my weight several times over. Odd thing lately, though. I've been shedding weight. Over the course of my internship and senior year I gained a lot, but in such a way that I was able to ignore/be defensive about it. And then when I moved here, nothing really happened the first few months, and then in between something like may and now, I've dropped down to what it was when I started college. I think it's because I stopped living on pasta and started living on protein. I seem to eat lots of chicken and turkey these days. It would be nice to drop down to what I was when I was in circus (122) but then I'd have to do serious working out on top of this. And I've been able to lose weight with just eating decently and smaller portions, and the physical work that I come across in my job. At the moment (hi hibernation) I'm really not motivated to seek outside exercise. Enough narcissism.
I like this 'fall' thing. The trees outside my window are all sorts of pretty, especially in afternoon light. I have to say, though, that it's not that different from the west coast. Except that it's a lot slower and lasts longer. West coast you would have the trees be green until mid october, and then it starts raining a bunch, the leaves turn, it's like that until a week or two into november, and then all the leaves fall off. Here you seem to get about 2+ months of gradual leaf fading. It also depends on the tree. I have one outside that's bare, one that's still green, and then a few that are mid-orangy glory.
I'm excited for snow. Kind of. It was really cold last night visiting John. Enough so that I'm putting a temperature limit on visits. I can't remember how it felt, but I remember last year it being 15degs with a wind chill down to 7. That sounds horrible. I suppose by the time it happens I'll be better acclimated and able to deal.
I'm reading The Artamonovs, by Gorky. It's very good. Though it seems to be one of those books that doesn't especially have a plot, a point. It just keeps going with their lives until a convenient stopping point. We'll see. The translator seems to have done so freely. There's some things that must be in effort to catch the casualness or formality of the russian used that just sound a little awkward. Out of place. Who knows. I wonder if anyone else translated it, it would be interesting to compare the two.
My mother has a little bed table, with legs that snap out, and a little rim to it. I need one of those, since now I pretty much only eat in my room. Her brother made it and she stole it from him. I'm not sure what they're called at all, but I need to find one. Lap tables? Breakfast tray with legs?
11:26 a.m.
prev :: next