dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

And let me play among the stars

2007-11-09
The foam top is good. It' not good for pointy joints, if I prop myself up on an elbow, it goes right through to rest on the hard hard futon below. But I definitely am sleeping better. Getting up sucks a lot less. Granted, the last two nights I've also gotten a good amount of sleep as well.
I'm working on three things at once, which always stresses me out a little. One is just electrician work, so I'm not really working on that, it's just kind of there and taking up time and giving me money. Then I'm assistant designing for Peter (yay!) on a really interesting show. But the plot os due monday. So today I need to make the plot pretty, finish it up. I think I have some of tomorrow to do that as well, and sunday I'm meeting with him to finalize it. And then I'm doing this silly show up at that big school on the west side. Though it's part of their medical dept.? and so it's surgeons and stuff acting? I'm not sure. All I know is that I had to put in a rental order, and I went a little over budget, and tonight I'm going to have 15 or so people who know little to nothing about lighting trying to help me get it all in the air and focused. So that I can do basic cues tomorrow or sunday afternoon. This sucks. I hate shows where I just come in last minute and "oh, just make it look good, it doesn't matter". I don't mind doing little shows. But I mind not being able to give shows as much as I think they deserve. With this, I'd like to at least watch a rehearsal and talk to the director about ideas, and then have a week to think and put together a rental order. How it is, with me just ordering the same stuff that the guy who passed it on to me did last year, and then coming in and doing something fast and superfluous, I feel like I"m wasting their money. Oh well. I suppose I shouldn't be too concerned.
There's a guy in one of the subway connection tunnels, this little old angry looking man who plays the violin. The first time I saw him, there was a trombonist up the corridor from him, and the violinist was glaring at him with the best death glare ever, and trying valiantly to play over it. Since then I see him every now and then, and he's always hunchy and muttering, and rather fantastic. One of these days I'm going to drap a lot of money in his case.
8:59 a.m.
prev :: next