dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

Brown bear in the ring

2007-11-10
I do not have time to write this. But I really need to complain, and this was tailor-made for that. So there.
This show is a giant pain in my ass. Huge. GInormous. Let's start with- Kevin says, 'oh, yeah, it's real easy, here's the rental order I used last year, just make it bright and happy, or sad. Just scene by scene stuff.' Ookay. I'm a little skeptical, but the show at the private girls school was about that wasy, minus the rental order, so sure. Except that it's not. It's in a lecture hall. And hanging positions suck. And I have 48 circuits, but only 24 dimmers. And I'm not sure if they're 2.4k dimmers, or 1.8, and I need to put up to 2000 watts of power on some of them. John was looking stuff up for me and found that that model of dimmer, if overloaded, will seem fine for a while, but will then go on fire, or something equally drastic and disasterous. I can't tell which size these are. I need to call Kevin and find out. He had better know. I think I'm safe, but I really don't want to be wrong. Anyway. Then let's go to the fact that I loaded in and focused as much as I could (figuring out the dimmers, and the potential dimmer explosion took some time away) from 6pm to midnight last night. I have the same time tonight to hang the rest of the lights (more on the in a second) and finish focus, and then we'll rough cue it until we're bored. Or pass out. Then sunday, I will have actors and will cue it officially. Which all sounds sort of okay. Except let's add in the fact that I read the script on the subway home last night. And that I have never seen a rehearsal. That I had to design lights for a show with some one else's sugested lighting package in about 5 minutes in a space that I've never seen before, for a show that I am unfamiliar with. And THEN let's add on the fact that the rental company screwed me. The first thing I noticed- hey, there is no gaff tape. To tie line, and hey, no gel. Where is it all? and then I notice, hey, I asked for 2 19degs with spot handles and iris kits, to use as spotlights. There are the handles, and there are the iris kits, and there are the 19deg barrels... where are the lights that I put all this on? And then, I notice, hey, look, I need to hang these strip lights, and there aren't enough c clamps to do it! I can only hang 1. Of 4. That's rather useless.
So today, along with drafting a plot that I have a meeting about tomorrow, I have to place a gel order, go pick it up waaaay the fuck down at Canal st. And then I have to go somewhere else downtown, and pick up 2 s4 bodies, and 5 c-clamps, and I have to cart all of this shit up to the way the fuck upper west side. The clamps are solid metal, whatever it is. I think steel. So say, 2-3 lbs each. The lights with their barrels are 17 lbs, so without I think it's about 11ish. This is not a ridiculous amount of weight, but add in that they're kind of bulky, and that I'll be carrying my laptop, so I can draft every chance I get, And this is not happy. I might take a cab.
I should have drafted yesterday, it's true. But I wanted to see John, and so we went and got lunch, and then went shooting. Um. Yes. Me. And a rifle. And a target. I was pretty good at it. Granted, it has a scope, and we were shooting like 50 feet, but still. I liked shooting it way more than being next to it while it's being shot. There's a big flash of fire out the front. I thought that only happened with old school muskets and shit. I guess not. Anyway. Now I'm a little better prepared for when the zombies come. I wouldn't say that it was fun, per se. But I did enjoy it, I think. And would go again.
Okay. Time to deal with lots of stupid shit. So fucking terrible. I don't want to do this. I almost backed out. I should have. Goddamn.
9:17 a.m.
prev :: next