dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

Raindrops on roses

2007-10-09
Grouchy. Kind of. Who knows. I have work to do. A lot of it. I've been putting it off. Not a good idea. I have to now stay up all night and try to do it. It drafting for the Seattlish show. So, the asia tour people haven't gotten back to me. They said they would sometime last week. I sent them an email over the weekend asking about it. Didn't hear back. So today I turned it down. Maybe a bad idea. I don't know. But I wasn't sure I wanted to do it, I was kind of scared that I couldn't handle it, and that it was too much work and stress for the money. So then I called the seattle show's production manager, and told him that there was no longer a january conflict. He said great, he'd look into some stuff, and email me back. He emails saying that with their travel budget, they can't afford to fly me out, so they'll have to hire a local ALD. Fuck that. I just effectively gave up another gig for this one. And I want to visit people in seattle. Okay, I want to visit Jill. So I wrote back saying what would happen if I paid for my own ticket. We'll see. I think I'd ask them to take it out of my pay. BUT all of this is MOOT because I need to do the fucking plot for any of this to happen. It's due the 16th. Tonight is the 9th. I have the preliminary paperwork, and based on that I need to figure out where stuff will go. And I've been avoiding it. Fucking terrible. You know what I've been doing instead? Watching The Office. What the hell, man? I couldn't wait and do that some other time? Oh well. Tomorrow I'm working at the gallery (as I was today) and then the 11th-16th, I'm doing 10 hour electrician days. So tonight gets to be the stay up and stress out night. I miss school where I could just blow it off. Or turn it in really late. Oh well. I really don't miss school.
Maybe I'll take a shower before I start working. That might make me all curly and wanting to sleep, though. but it sounds really nice. I pinned rubber words to a wall all day today. My hands smell like rubber.
The staged reading thing went really well. I mean, it kind of sucked because they couldn't rehearse in the space, so instead of going to rehearsal I sat in bed and watched The Office all day, and then went over ther ein the evening, and lit it. It would have been nice to see rehearsal, but kind of pointless, because as much as I might have had ideas about stuff, they all go out the window when I get in the space and see what I'm actually working with. There's a show in there right now, and the board op recorded submaster for me, and I just used those, I feel really sketchy about recording cues on a board that's currently in show use. But the reading went really well. The actors were very good, and the post play discussion was awesome. I really like discussing/listening to other people discuss theatre. And then I went and visited John (instead of drafting) and that was really nice. He was all sorts of tired and out of it, as it's his 4th night in a row, but by the time I left he looked much more awake. Good conversation. He's going to be mad at me soon. He hates presents, and particularly doesn't want me spending money on him. But, he's been talking about Mystery Science Theater 3000 a lot lately, h'es made me watch some and I really like it too, and he has really wanted to own them for a while now. So I bought him a bunch. They're expensive. Fairly rare. Available on ebay, but not excessively. There were some volumes I couldn't find, and one that I decided to watch that has 5 days left. It's already up to 50something. So yeah. I didn't pay that much for them. But I did get him a lot of them. Namely, vol 1, 2, possibly 3, he owns 4, and then 5-8. And then an Essential disc with two more episodes. There seem to be a lot of essentials discs. Who knows how to pick 'em. I picked one that had really horrifically bad movie titles on it. Good times.
Shower?
8:38 p.m.
prev :: next