dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

Water flowing under

2007-10-03
Work keeps leading to more work. I did another gig at the school in brooklyn, and the designer was a really nice guy. I just sent him my resume. Who knows what will come of it, but I suspect that he'll either hire me for something, or pass my name on for something. Or both. I like getting these connections. The school also pays pretty well (better than fashion week, though way fewer hours, and not really any overtime). Also, Sarah who is the assistant head electrician on fashion week (where I was working) called me a week or so ago, asking if she could pass my name on to her neighbor, who is a lighting designer who occasionally needs assistants. He called me, and I'm working for him friday. He had another thing in december, but I turned that down as I'm already working for Peter then.
So, at the school I was working at, they have a security system. So, at every entrance there's a little security kiosk, and you have to show your id, and if you don't have a school id they look at you oddly until you explain that you're working in the theatre for the day. And then they let you pass. A lot of times during the day, they aren't even paying attention. So, basically, anyone can walk in there, just say that they're working somewhere on campus or something, and walk right in with whatever. Not that I want them to be all invasive and bag-checking, and calling the theatre to check, but really. If you're going to have security guards checking id's and such, you should try harder to have them actually be somewhat effective. Whatever.
I don't know that I mentioned this, I'm designing the lighting for an installation at Emily's gallery. I'm very excited. I've already met with the artist and talked through things, and I'm going down there tomorrow to check out their gallery lights and see what I can do with them. Not much, probably, but the main point is color temperature. I'm very excited about this, getting to work with stuff that will be looked at closely. I like that I'm getting the chance to be that specific. A lot of it is stuff that will sit a little bit out from the walls, so the shadows are important. I have also gotten roped into helping install it. What the heck. I didn't have any other work to do those days, and I'd rather work and get paid a little, than not work, and not get paid at all. I'm very excited about getting to go to a gallery opening. I've never been before.
I read Kurt Vonnegut's Slapstick the other day. Unfortunately, I realized that I have already read it. Which probably means I already own it. Oh well. I love his writing, and his attitude towards everything. It's a different kind of real than is usually presented in books. One of the things I like about Zadie Smith's books is how real the characters are (particularly in On Beauty) and how plainly, yet artfully, yet accurately she writes. I could describe Vonnegut in much the same way, but it's a totally different feeling. And reading it puts me in a whole different mood. I was on the train heading home when I heard that he had died. It was one of those hollow moments. A friend of mine wrote about it here, and did a very good job, I feel.
Anyway. Even though I feel like I'm stumbling along, and occasionally clinging to a cliff, life is good. I have trapeze tonight, and John is picking me up, and then we are going to drink wine on a beach. Unless they kick us out and/or arrest us. So...we might end up doing something else instead. Who knows.
11:03 a.m.
prev :: next