dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

I blame you for the moonlit night

2007-09-25
Everything is all still unknown. I'm meeting with the Asia people on thursday. The seattle people sent me an email saying that they would love to have me, and would pay me lots of money. But the staged readings means leaving one of the trips early, and Asia means not going on the other. I told them that, and said I understood if that meant they wanted to go with someone else.
So, there's this guy Ian that I work for. Nice guy. But not the most organized. He took on 5 shows at once. So, I ended up being the master electrician on one (which was not what he originally told me, just what ended up happening. Fine), and a regular electrician on another (which is totally fucked. It's a large scale thing that wasn't prepped properly, and the designer keeps adding things and not telling Ian till the last minute. When I left, they were about 7 hours behind. And they open tomorrow). And the third, I am designing. He did the plot, and has now turned it over to me for cueing. The director and stage manager love me, because I haven't even seen a run thru, and am still doing a good job banging through, and it looks good. And I like cueing. But I'm angry at Ian. Taking on that much is incredibly irresponsible, and fucks everyone in the process, and cueing is what designing is about. I really wish he had told them, 'I'm sorry, I can do the set, but not the lights, as I can't commit to being there during tech', and then handed the whole design over to me. His plot is not the greatest (and it's also not finished! The booms aren't in place at all, and I have no idea what he intended for them, so I'm not going to fix them. Also, we've done a third of the show without them. I'm not that excited about adding them in now). Whatever. He's paying me. It's just such a mangling and I hate that there are so many people that have to clean up after him and pick up his slack. We're also apparently out of electrician money for this. So any and all notes have to be done by me. Feh.
10:32 a.m.
prev :: next