dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

Leave them laughing when you go

2007-09-06
So it was a good thing I wimped out and slept in the morning. We ended up going till midnight, and I was pretty dead then. Last night was some of the best sleep of my life, though. And today was good, it felt productive. I got tired, and achy and such, but that was okay.
Chris got here today, during the afternoon, and so took a cab into the city (in the middle of the taxi strike, of which I was not aware until yesterday, and I want to find out more about now) and sat and read for a couple hours. He's going to work with me tomorrow, so that will be interesting. We went out to thai food tonight. The food was good, ome of the conversation was good. He talked a lot. Which I understand, he worked at a theatre festival in Scotland for a month, and then went to Vienna for a week, and now is here. But he's a self concious storyteller. He's not that good at it. Neither am I, sometimes, and for the same reason. There's all this experience, all these memories and details, and you want to convey all of them to your audience, so they really understand what you were feeling, why that was amusing, how tired you were, and how stupid that guy was. But it's nearly always really unsuccessful, you try to convey too much, too quickly, and you try to impart your direct experience, rather than describing what happened in a way that imparts the feeling. I don't know. It's a subtle difference. Anyway.
It's time for bed. Updated here will suck until I'm done with this constant work thing. Though it's monetarily kind of great. Tuesday was, after taxes, a somewhere-near $400 day. I don't think I'll get another like that, but hey. It's far from bad when one week can pay me enough to not worry for the next month and a half.
11:07 p.m.
prev :: next