dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

You got stuck in a moment

2007-09-15
Wheeee. Fashion week is over. It was ridiculous. But I have already made rent nearly 3 times over (though I have yet to get the checks. But it's an actual company, so they'll actually pay me in a timely manner. Exciting) and made friends and muscle. Working 10 days in a row, with most of those being 12 hours days, with a 16 and an 18 hour day in there, was tiring. And right after strike on wednesday, I went to trapeze class. I'm not sure what I think of it yet. I mean, I like it, and I will like going to it. But it's not exactly what I was looking for. I want a trainer. I kind of miss being a kid and just have the coaches tell me everything. Being an adult in a class is way different, and much more autonomous. I'm not that good at self directing for these sorts of things. I like the other people in the class, though, and the teachers are good. I like that they have two teachers for the class. John picked me up from that, and I got to spend all of thursday through half of friday with him. Very nice. And I got to sleep a lot, which was great; I hadn't gotten more than 5 hours a night in over a week. Thursday we were trying to figure out what we wanted to do, and ended up going to his house, where we ran an errand with his brother, then made borsht, I did my laundry, and we watched Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas. Whish I absolutely loved. I want to see it again, but not until I've read the book. The borsht was pretty good. I kind of want more at the moment.
I am ridiculously swamped with work this month. I have no idea how that happened. I mean, I do, I can trace all of it, but more just keeps showing up. I'm loading in a few shows, and drafting a plot. It's going to be pretty busy for the next few weeks, which is both nice, and a bit overwhelming. My body is so excited about this little rest I've been giving it, and I'm sort of cringing on the inside about ending that tomorrow. I'm pretty sore from work and trapeze, and I have a ton of bruises. I have no recollection of how I got most of them. I think I bumped in to a lot of road cases and such.
I really like the group of people I was working with. There were a couple who got on my nerves, but in general they were all really nice, competent, amusing people. I kind of work there half for the money, a quarter for the people, and a quarter because I like the work.
I had dinner with Zina today. We wandered around for a while, then found a diner-ish place and sat and talked. She's liking college a lot. It's reminding me of when I was a starry-eyed freshman, and all happy and excited to be taking classes that I got to pick, that felt worthwhile and interesting. She also had bits of camp gossip that were exciting. But only bits. So now there are things to be idlly pondered.
Tomorrow I have to draft all day. I'm not looking forward to it. I haven't drafted in quite a while, and this is a bit of a rush job. From looking at it earlier, it should be pretty easy. But I have to wake up and motivate myself to work at home. And then sunday I'm working from 8-7, loading in a gq party. I almost didn't take the work, but it will be easier than what I was doing fashion week, and it's with the same people. And, you know, money. Another 10 hours on that paycheck. I think they do checks twice a month. I do like not having to chase people down for money. Someone still hasn't paid me from work in June. But it's only 80 or so, so I'm not that into persuing it. Mabye I should anyway. Principle of the thing.
I made my mom a cd while I was there, and she really liked it. She's a tricky person to make a cd for. I generally know her taste, but not totally, and a lot of my music she really dislikes. But now she's saying I should make her another. We'll see. The first one was pretty good-

Redwing-Hem
Ta Shto Mi E Milo-Nonesuch Explorer
Once in a Lifetime-Talking Heads
Belle of Belfast City-Kirsty MacColl
Broad Majestic Shannon-Pogues
Send in the Clowns-Judy Collins
Consuelo-?
I'm Not Wearing Underwear Today-Avenue Q
Like the Weather-10,000 Maniacs
Recyled Air-Postal Service
A Way Back To Then-[title of show]
Waterloo Sunset-Kinks
There Will Be No Divorce-Mountain Goats
All The Pretty Little Horses-Holly Cole
Nations of the World-Animaniacs
At The Bottom of Everything-Bright Eyes
Fade Into You-Mazzy Star
Hit the Road, Jack-Blues Brothers
Good Morning-Singing in the Rain

So, who knows. I was thinking of some things to put on, and then I realized they were on the first one. Ha.

12:32 a.m.
prev :: next