dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

It's a new dawn, it's a new day

2007-09-02
So, you know how a week or so ago I was all whiny about needing to look for work, and not wanting to, and blah blah? I barely need to look for work, apparently. It finds me. So, I got the aforementioned Fashion Week thing. I called because I had heard that they needed people for one of the days. I ended up with 8 days of work. I also have work tomorrow (that I did track down, but then stopped caring about). Aaron, one of my designers (though there are now two Aarons. This is the one I've already worked with) I had sent an email to just saying hi and reminding him of my existence. He wrote back saying he might have a plot for me to draft soon, and that he gets back to town the 9th. And then, just now, Ian called me. He's working on three shows at once, and needs me to be his second in command on one of them. It's a burlesque-y type show, headed by Margaret C**, so that should be interesting. So, now I have tons of work this month. Not tons. But more than enough. I have no idea what the thing with Ian pays, but it doesn't really matter. It won't be under 200, and I am in the luxurious position of not needing to care. I still should care, really, because what if october is totally dry and bereft of work. That would suck.
Just before I got back, I got a call for work that I thankfully turned down. It was work I didn't want to do in the first place, it was a 7 week commitment, and it payed 500. If I had a day job, I might have considered it. I felt bad turning it down, because I really like the designer who called me, and they definitely could have used me and my OCD tendencies. But it would have meant not being able to take all of this work. I feel like I'm now being rewarded for my good sense.
I visited John the last two nights. The first night wa a bad idea. I was in a weird mood, he was really tired. I got upset about a stupid thing, and it was no good. Though by the time I left it was back to good. He said a couple things that made a lot of sense, and then we moved on to other topics. And then last night was good. He was wrecked, having only gotten 2 hours of sleep, but it was good, and relaxed and I gave him movies that he had left at my house, a cd that I made him, and a book of blank postcards. He's been inspired by mine, I think. I should scan and post them here, I've made some good ones. But now I'm not really inspired. I have some ideas, but it never feels like a good time, and I'm also not sure of the ideas. Whatever.
Today was lazy. I have work tomorrow. I need to do laundry and go get some thai curry.
4:21 p.m.
prev :: next