dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

I'm italy now

2007-05-23
Mimosa and ET have been in town, they leave tonight. So yesterday was spent hanging out with them, mostly. I slept in way way late, rolled out of bed around 2pm, and went to check on the how that I assisted Peter on. There had been some benefit fundraiser ju nk in the theatre on monday, so they had taken the whole set out for that. Ridiculous. Fortunately, it's a set of stacks of paper, and a couple tree trunks. So I went in and checked all the floor units, made sure that they were focused right, made myself a backup disk, and took off. We tried to get tickets to Wicked through the lottery, but lost, and the show was sold out. So we wandered over through Rockefeller center, which was pretty cool. The menu for the cafe looked fucking great, though of course too pricey for us. But it was nice to look. Mosa got sucked into a french store with all sorts of Little Prince stuff. We kept wandering and eventually hopped on the subway down to Astor Place. Where we found out that Passing Strange was sold out. Lame. So we were sitting there, kind of wondering what to do with the evening. We wanted to see a show, and go to my favorite sushi place, but neither of them were hungry yet. At which point we realized/noticed that Blue Man Group was across the street. So we all used our expired student id's, and got cheap tickets to that. It was pretty awesome. I don't quite know what to say about it other than that. There's all sorts of cool stuff that I want to figure out how they do. Almost all the humor is in their slow questioning takes to each other and the audience. And in little surprise stuff popping out. And in the matter-of-factness of some of their statements. I want my parents to see it, actually, it reminds me a little of Stomp (but oh-so-very different) and I think they'd be all sorts of amused. Though some of the music is far far from their taste. Whatever. Anyway. The combination of it being an awesome show, and totally on a whim made it a pretty perfect evening, topped off by fabulous sushi. This place is half off if you get over a certain amount (like $16, or something ? it's really easy to do). So for 9 rolls, it was 40 bucks. ET laughed, and paid the whole thing. I dropped them off at the subway, and we went our separate ways. I think they should move here. Mimosa totally would, but I don't know that ET would be happy. I think he might, though, living here is a lot less frenetic than visiting.
I also saw them on sunday for a bit, in between the load in at one theatre, and the strike of the terrible show. They happened to have picked the cafe directly next to the terrible show, which was really convenient for me, but meant that I kept seeing people I knew from both theatres. I was kind of ridiculous, I think I paused to say hi to various passers by about 6 times in a half hour. I warned them that that was a skewed view of how many people I actually know here. It was kind of surreal.
But now they're gone. Work is slowing down a little. Not really, but it's switching over to more freelance, and that means motivating myself to get off my ass and do it. Feh. I am enjoying getting to sleep in again. Anyway. I have to go to Paramus now. I'm hungry and don't have time, or food here. Good thing there's food everywhere in this city.
1:10 p.m.
prev :: next