dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

So many times I've played around

2007-05-25
What a long day. I guess not that long, but it had both strenuous and tedious parts, and not much in between.
Originally, I was told that today was a focus call from 3-10pm. Perfect. Lots of sleeping in, some afternoon errands, work. Great. Then last night I get a text message from Ian, saying that it's at 9am. Damn. So, focus and work call from 9 am to 7pm. Lots of heay lifting, lots of sitting around waiting for them to turn on the light I was sitting behind, a decent bit of banter, all in all, not a terrible day. And for lunch we went to the Dosa Cart, which was Awesome. It's this Sri Lankan guy who's pretty famous, who runs this little cart. And it's not cart food, really. It's real (though fast) Indian food. We all got dosa's with vegetables and potato and samosa. They were fantastic.
And then I went and watched a rehearsal for this show that I'm lighting in mid june. Once it's over, then the month and a half of solid work will be over. Unless I manage to line up more, which is always a possibility. The rehearsal was good. It's going to be a very interesting, odd project. It's not paying me much, but it's interesting, but it's pretty simple, but I have some ideas. It's kind of a smorgasbord of little scenes, almost completely unrelated. I didn't see that much, rather, they just kind of ran through the order so I could see that. But I like the director, and I think I like the actors. So it should be fun.
I'm donig a dance show in the beginning of june that is going to be fucking terrible. It's a recital, so it's like 40 dances, done by kids of various ages, and it's mildly torturous and terrible. But it's paying me nearly double my rent. For about 4 days of work. So.... There go all my complaints. What a whore.
Anyway. I need to go to sleep. I thought that tomorrow started at 3 as well. Nope. 11. So, better than 9 am, but early enough that I need to pass out now. And today totally wiped me out, for some reason. Maybe I've gotten soft and lazy from assisting work, and now that I'm havig to do real physical labor, I'm a total wuss about it. Or, you know, it was a 10 hour day, folowed by 3 hours of paying attention to stuff and coming up with ideas, followed by a torturous subway trip, followed by sewing the straps of Emily's dress for her, followed by writing this. So, I'm tired. Goodnight.
Oh! But I got the packet and my contract from Camp today! All the same stuff I see every year, but exciting nonetheless.
12:30 a.m.
prev :: next