dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

If I'm buried neath the sod, but the angels won't recieve me

2007-03-14
"The Pogues regret the late cancellation of tonight's show at Roseland, NYC. Shane MacGowan took an accidental tumble on a piece of stage equipment at the Boston Orpheum last Sunday (11) which required the band to slightly curtail their show. MacGowan's injury, though painful, did not at first seem more serious than that, but he has had pain and mobility problems ever since. As recently as 5pm this afternoon, The Pogues (minus Shane, as is their custom) completed a soundcheck at Roseland and, at that point, there was no prospect of cancellation. As the band were leaving Roseland to return to their hotel before the show, news arrived from Shane's doctor that the injury made his appearance tonight out of the question. We will update later with information about the remaining scheduled shows on the tour. Right now, there is nothing more to say except we wish Shane a safe and speedy recovery and hope we will be able to make good this disappointing development on another occasion."
Lame!! I'm very dissapointed. But! I secured a ticket to the show on saturday. Hopefully that won't be canceled as well. Damn. Oh well. C'est la vie.
Somehow I manage (all the time, why why why) to go straight from drunk to hung over without missing a beat. I think basically from now on, I need to get drunk, and then go to sleep. I think that's the only solution.
But it's only 9, and it's Emily's birthday, and they should be back here to drink soon, so I'm going to try to recover a little before I head back out. I'll write about the evening in general later. It was entertaining despite the letdown.
9:15 p.m.
prev :: next