dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

I am going, I am going, any which way the winds may be blowing

2007-03-14
POGUES

I'm excited. But now I'm trying to figure out what to bring. Like- it's in the 50's today, but it will be colder when the concert lets out, right? But I won't be outside much. So...shirt, light hoodie, leather jacket? I figure they'll have a place I can check my jacket, right? But then for a bag. Things I need- phone, keys, ID, ticket, cash, debit card, metro card. Not too much, I can carry that all on me. But it feels weird. And as much as I love my phone, and I defend it's ability to fit in my pocket, it is a little bulky for that. I feel like I need secret pockets on the inside bottom of my pant legs.
And I'm also a little confused on timing. I mean, given that it's me, and that I'm looking forward to it so much, I'll probably be there stupid early. But here's the deal (according to one of the band members who posts on the mesage boards)- 6.45 Doors, 7.45 THE HOLLOWAYS, 8.30 Interval, 9.00 THE POGUES. I am short. Not super short, but 5'4". SO I have every intention of being right up front. What time I should I get there? It's open floor, I don't know how I feel about the opening band, and I don't know about standing for an extra two-ish hours. I did that for Bjork and my feet didn't forgive me for a while. Granted, I was wearing boots then.
My general plan is to head into the city at about 3, find a pub nearby, get a cider, eat something, hang out, see if I notice any other people obviously going, and then head over.
It's a little lame that I'm going by myself. Well. Not really, once I get inside it'll be good not to have to try to crowd weave with two people. But for going and eating beforehand, and the standing in line and all, I kind of regret not having some one with me. Oh well. I invited a few people who didn't come through. I'm also remembering Paul telling me a story about some time or other that he went to a concert with Claudia, and they were up in front and so he put his arms around her and braced himself on the stage edge or security fence or whatever, and acted as a buffer. I'd like a buffer.
All week I've had them as the only thing playing on itunes. I don't know if that's good or bad. I think good, though; they'll be so different live than that, and it gets me all excited about it. Also it helps me learn more of the lyrics. Heh. Oh boy. I'm excited.
OH! And THEN. Last night I got an email from Matt- he's doing a show at that big ivy league school in NJ and he asked me to be his assistant! It's paying me well, and they'll cover my train fare, and the first weekend might be crazy long hours, so they'll put us up in a hotel if needed. Woo! I have a small mental checklist of things that I want to accomplish, and in small degrees, and I'm checking them off pretty rapidly. Work off Broadway, work on a show going to another country, be a real assistant and get to go to tech, work a job that pays for me to get there, and houses me. So, you know, someday I'll go through tech off Broadway, and someday tech on Broadway, and some one will pay to fly me somewhere, and I'll actually get to go to the other country with the show, but hey! I have been here less than three months. I'd say I'm pretty damn lucky, and there is little sign of that ever letting up. I'm happy.

And now, because I live in Sunnyside, because they'll be singing it tonight, and because bits of it are apropos (emphasis on 'bits'), and because I have it stuck in my head-
The Sunny Side of the Street
Seen the carnival at Rome
Had the women I had the booze
All I can remember now
Is little kids without no shoes
So I saw that train
And I got on it
With a heartful of hate
And a lust for vomit
Now I'm walking on the sunnyside of the street

Stepped over bodies in Bombay
Tried to make it to the U.S.A.
Ended up in Nepal
Up on the roof with nothing at all
And I knew that day
I was going to stay
Right where I am, on the sunnyside of the street

Been in a palace, been in a jail
I just don't want to be reborn a snail
Just want to spend eternity
Right where I am, on the sunnyside of the street

As my mother wept it was then I swore
To take my life as I would a whore
I know I'm better than before
I will not be reconstructed
Just wanna stay right here
On the sunnyside of the street

10:41 a.m.
prev :: next