dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

You're a bum, you're a drunk, you're an old slut on junk

2007-03-09
I was going to sleep today. Apparently that's not really happening.
Last night was the last dress/tech of the NJ show, and at the end, Jeff (the designer) asked if I wanted to get something to eat. I had a brief internal war (I'm a little hungry/it's pretty late/he's been pretty nice to me, it would be a nice gesture to go/I'm really tired of his stupid jokes, I want to spend as little time around him as possible right now) and said ok, sure. So we end up at this diner, which was okay. Kind of low end diner food, but I was hungry, it was fine. I managed to laugh at his jokes, and comport myself properly. Fortunately I had enough cash on me for the bill, with a bit left over. But then! We leave there at about midnight. And he drives me to the bus stop. The other night, I missed my usual 11:30 bus, so he drove me to Port Authority (which is like 15 minutes from Secaucus, not too big a deal). But not tonight. So I have to sit in the car with him and keep making idle stupid talk for like 20 minutes. Everything was just kind of slow and late, and I didn't get home till 1 30. At which point I had passed the food coma stage and was fairly alert, so I ended up staying up to work on the London plot till 5 30 in the morning. I finished it, though, I think. Just about. I emailed it to Aaron to have him check and approve it, but I think it's done.
Now I have to backtrack a little. My rent check bounced. For a number of reasons. One was that they didn't deposit it for a week. Another was that I had been playing bank account roulette. Another was that I lived a touch beyond my means in february. Another was that Fashion Week didn't pay me till yesterday. So Leslie asked me about it the yesterday, and was really adamant that she needed to have it in cash TODAY (our landlord is in Brazil for a few months, so Leslie is depositing the rent, or something). So I called my mom yesterday, needing to be bailed out, like a big baby. I feel pretty lame about that, that I failed to support myself. But at the same time, I just got here, and I've only done theatre work, so it's not too bad. Anyway. I also got paid by the NJ gig last night. So I wake up at 9 to deposit that check, and get a money order for the rent. That all goes smoothly, I have enough money to left over, I filed my taxes the other day, so I'll be getting the return soon, I can start paying my mom back, everything is fine.
I put the money order in an envelope on the fridge (like I do with everything, original rent check, money for cable, etc) and get back into bed. Leslie has not figured out that I leave stuff like that on the fridge, so she knocks on my door to ask about it, then comes back a minute later to inform me that it has to be cash. WTF? She's 29! Does she seriously not know that a money order is cash in single paper form? Who knows. I informed her of that in a nice-ish way, and tried to go back to sleep. It didn't work.
So today has been a wash of sitting in bed, looking for part time work on craigslist, and idly staring at the screen. It's too bright in my room to sleep, and I'm too distracted by wondering if Aaron has looked at the plot yet, and trying to think of things I maybe should fix on it. I haven't come up with an answer to either.
I finished reading The Things They Carried. I really really liked it. I always want to know what was real, what did happen, and he does a really good job of saying that it doesn't matter. That the truth truth is almost less valid that what it really seemed like, or the truth of how it felt. Which is right, I feel. That's a lot of why I read, for the perspective, for the reality of the feeling. This is no different, though it involves real people.
Time for lunch.
3:35 p.m.
prev :: next