dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

Some sing low and some sing higher

2007-02-26
I walked all over the place today. Not true. There was some back and forth there. But there was a lot of walking on city streets and steel toed boots, and combine that with the weather, and wind up with my knees hating me. I'm in so much pain right now, and I don't have any ibuprofen. I tend to not actually own any because I tend to take too much of it. So I'll suffer a little.
Dinner with Tenaya was great. We talked some on the train over, I babbled a lot about work, which may or may not have been annoying for her. We went and did food shopping, and then cooked. Pretty simply, but it was good. Couscous with zucchini and onion and bell pepper and feta, and butternut squash soup. Out of a box. But it was good, and it was just a really nice companionable time. We hung out for a while, watched tv. It's a switch from middle school, when I would go over to her house to watch tv nearly every day. When I finish reading Pride and Prejudice we're going to rewatch the A&E version. Again. It'll be the third time I'll have seen it in about 4 months. It's a lot easier to read than I thought. I remember picking up something else by her when I was a lot younger, 14, maybe? and just being bored. Some one once told me that it was written for a different style of reading, for when you would sit and read only a few pages at a time, which explains all the short chapters. On the one hand, that's great because I tend to get up and fidget a lot when I'm reading, until I completely settle into it, at which point I don't move for hours. But on the other hand, it makes it really easy to set down for a few days, which is what I've done. I'm going to have some time on a train in the next week or so, so I'll have to remember to bring it with me for that.
So, Aaron, the guy who I typed up the legalese for. I sent him an email just checking in, saying hey, how's that plot you were working on when I saw you, how was dinner with Peter, have any more work for me, etc. It was a nice little casual email. He wrote back fairly tersely, saying I want to work with you again, but right now I don't really have the money for it, and the restaurant project is stalled. To which I replied simply "No worries, I just really liked working with you and wanted to check in". He wrote back saying oh, don't worry, you'll change your mind soon enough. I said 'uh oh' and then, today, this very evening, I got an email from him saying "Just kidding � actually I was wondering what you were doing this Wednesday. I�m doing a show at the [Broadway theatre] and it�s going to London in the first week of April. I will certainly not be available to do the plot, and I thought if you came by for our tech day to familiarize yourself with everything then you could just take over the London drafting in its entirety." Ha! Woo! Hells yes! So I'm actually going down there tomorrow to start learning the plot, and to possibly help him organize his moving light channels. Is my life charmed or what? The show is not a big musical or anything, but it's kind of a cool deal, and holy hell! Transfering a plot in its entirety? Awesome. I'm excited.
I think I may have mentioned this before, but I kind of hate being paid for theatre work. Particularly this sort. I like doing the work, I like who I'm doing it for, and money just is kind of an unpleasant element to deal with. I kind of need the money, so doing a project like this for free isn't really an option I could consider. It sucks, though. Particularly because all of these designers that I've been working for are paying me out of their own pockets. I get personal checks. And I feel kind of like I'm robbing them, even though I'm charging a totally reasonable rate, and it's for a service that's valuable to them. I just can't shake not feeling right about it. Someday I will marry rich and will be able to do whatever work I want without worrying about these things. Heh.
11:12 p.m.
prev :: next