dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

You know I can't believe you when you say that you don't need me

2007-02-20
So I just went to a strip club. Oh boy.

The night started off tame. Rather, the afternoon. I was hanging out on the couch, playing on the internet, idly watching tv, when Leslie came home at 2 30, and said, "oh, I forgot to tell you, I'm shooting here today" for her documentary, on whatever. Fine, sure. She's going to start at 3, it'll take about an hour. Okay, so I figure I'll hide in my room for an hour and a half, read some, and then it'll be over. I go, I read the rest of Blink (some of which I really think they should base a Law and Order episode on, if they haven't already) I fuck around on the internet some more. Around 4 30, I start to realize that they're not done yet. Fine, I understand an interview running long, I have nothing in particular to do, fine. But it keeps going. Holy fuck. At 6 pm, I leave. I ignore the fact that there is a dude talking, and a camera rolling, I walk right out and go next door, where Emily has wisely situated herself. She was smart enough to leave when it started. So we hang out, we watch tv, we talk about various junk. When Duece (the other Emily) gets home, we go out to dinner, thai food. I really like this place, I've gotten takeout there before, it's pretty consistently great. I love thai curry. Anyway. We go back to their place to watch Sex in the City and drink wine, and wait for Maura's birthday to start, which is today, the 20th. Some pictures were taken, I helped chage out Duece's fishbowl water by holding the fish in his interim container, good times are had. Midnight rolls around, Emily departs. I'm panning on sticking around just another few minutes, but Maura and Ross are going to Maggie Mae's, and I figure yes, I'll go and have a drink, and then head home, lovely. Oh boy. We finally head out, and get there a little after 1. There's a really good band playing, we're surrounded by irish people, life is good. It's funny to describe the band. They were really good, and it was definitely irish music, but it wasn't specifically 'irish music'. It was all sort of rocking, with a good beat behind it, and even I was tempted to dance. Ross and I were mostly listening to the music, but the bartender from another bar that they frequent came up, and bought us a round. And then a rose for Maura. And then a round of shots (sambuca, I think). And then another round. He left for a while in the middle, and Maura told me he was creeping her out some. But she is kind of starved for attention, in a more desperate way than I am, and so she wasn't pushing him away at all. Another guy had been kind of talking to Ross and me, named Jimmy, and he soon started cozying up to Maura. Oh dear. And then- his friends were heading to a strip club, did we want to go? My response was no, not really. It's late, I'm tired, she's drunk, Ross is listening to music. But for some reason, maura sais yeah, I want to check it out. Jimmy tried to make out with her in the cab there. Which was stupid, because we were literally 6 blocks away. Anyway. We have to check our coats, and we go in. There is a bar in a bog oval, and in the middle is a platform with a pole at either end, and there's a girl dancing. I am out of money, so I don't drink anything (though I think Jimmy paid out tab, but I'm not sure). Ross is watching the near naked girls (it was a topless only club, though the g strings weren't hiding much), Maura was talking to Jimmy and occasionally making out with him. I was watchign the girls, the other patrons, and occasionally pinching Maura to remind her that she shouldn't be that desperate. There was lots of blacklight. The girls were okay. It was kind of cool though, they didn't have perfect bodies. At all, really, and so if they can strip, and these guys are all totally into them, then I can have sex with people and not be too selfconcious, right? Eh, who knows. It was a little weird though, there was a big pile of dollar bills on the floor, and then when they finished dancing, they would go around and kind of present themselves for you to tip. Ross and I weren't really tipping, both of us being, as I said, out of money. So it was kind of sad. After a while, I dragged Maura to the restroom, where she told me she definitely wanted out, and that it was time to leave. You wouldn't quite guess it from how she was acting, but I kind of know how it is. I'm really bad at saying no as well, particlularly when you really like the attention. I've had first date sex more than once because of that. Anyway. We go back out, and I extricate all of us as soon as I can. It takes a while. But finally, near 4 am, we walk out, with all out belongings, say goodbye to Jimmy, and head home. Ross is being kind of an asshole, saying 'hey, we should go there more often, check that place out again' and kind of teasing Maura. He was being a jerk in a subtle way, sort of. Like not overtly jerkish, but knowing the situation, added to things he was saying, and how Maura was reacting, he was being an ass. Which sucks, because I sort of have a crush on him. But not really. He needs to grow up some. Which I told him; I said it a couple times, 'call me in 5 years' and then repeated it when I was at my door. "five years?" he says "I'll date you then" I replied. He looked kind of bewildered, standing on the street, saying 'what? why? In five years?'. We'll see if he remembers. I was slightly drunk, he was pretty drunk, Maura was very drunk. I felt kind of like the babysitter, corraling them home, particularly when Maura insisted that we lived in the opposite direction. It was a good balance, I was sober enough to keep track of them both, and corral them a bit, and drunk enough not to really mind that I was the babysitter.
Anyway. Feh. I'm tired. And I smell like smoke, because apparently Maggie Mae's lets you smoke indoors there. Blech. I though i was done with dealing with that. So I'm going to take a quick shower, and then sleep as long as I can get away with. I've been going out and drinking too much. I like the social side, but it's expensive, and pretty silly. Famous last words.

4:01 a.m.
prev :: next