dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

Playing solitaire till dawn with a deck of 51

2007-02-08
So the last time I did this, it turned out really fairly wierd and innaccurate. I felt a redo was in order. This time went a lot better, but there are still some oddities.

1.) Put your music player on shuffle
2.) Press forward for each question.
3.) Use the song title as the answer to the question.
4.) NO CHEATING!!!

---------------------------------------------

1.) How am I feeling today?
Capital Radio One- The Clash

2.) How will I feel getting married?
500 Miles- The Proclaimers

3.) What is my best friend's theme song?
It's The End of the World- REM

4.) College is?
Murder by Numbers- The Police

5.) I am...
You Can Dance If You Want To- Men At Work

6.) How is today?
Rebel Yell- Billy Idol

7.) What is in store for this week?
Wayfaring Stranger- 16 Horsepower

8.) What song best describes my parents?
The Scandanavian- Alasdair Frasier and Natalie Haas

9.) How is my life going?
That Old Black Magic- Frank Sinatra

10.) What song will they play at my funeral?
Wild Mountain Thyme- Bob Dylan

11.) How does the world see me?
Burn in Hell- Twisted Sister (oh dear.)

12.) My friends think...
Dream a Little Dream of Me- Anne Murray

13.) My life is...
Blue (Da Ba Dee)- Eiffle 65

14.) This makes me happy...
Have a Little Faith in Me- Jewel

15.) What should I do with my life?
Electric Avenue- Eddy Grant (I am very confused as to what I should be doing based on this)

16.) I will be happy when...
Polly's Dress- Hem

17.) What is some good advice?
Something to Do- Depeche Mode

18.) The type of men/women i like are...
Two-Headed Boy- Neutral Milk Hotel

21.) How will you feel on your wedding day?
Roxanne- The Police (ha!)

22.) What should I do with my love life?
I Wanna Be Your Boyfriend- The Ramones

23.) What will your neighborhood be like?
Divorce Song- Liz Phair

24.) What will be your dying words?
Letting the Telephone Ring- Ani DiFranco

25.) What is your favorite thing to do?
Somebody's Eyes- Footloose, Broadway cast

26.) Describe your (ex) boyfriend/girlfriend?
Somebody Got Murdered- The Clash (this is kind of fitting. Not in a literal sense.)

27.) What are your plans for tomorrow?
Seven Days in Sunny June- Jamiroquai

28.) What is your current mood?
Move Your Body- Eiffle 65

29.) Are you in love?
Everyboody Knows- Leonard Cohen

30.) Your thoughts on this survey?
Estoy Aqui- Shakira


I was pretty tired last night, but then my roommate invited me out to a bar with a bunch of her friends. I'm really glad I went. They were all about my age, and really nice. They struck me as really typical smart, college-educated, young people who all hang out and go to parties some and go out drinking. I talked to one of the guys, Ross, a lot. I didn't get an entire sense of him, but we seem to have a lot of common interests without agreeing on everything. Some one who is good for discussions about stuff. He knows a lot more about music than I do, but it's a lot of the same music as me, so I actually have a small leg to stand on and say things from.
We went to a bar on Queens Blvd. Apparently I live in a really Irish area, most of the bars are Irish. The bartender had an accent, and when Emily, my roommate, asked if there were any bars around that had something-or-other (it sounded like Beamish, but I wans't listening very closely and it was loud) he gave her a look and said "you know, back home, we give that stuff away. Terrible" It was the most inherently casual social thing I've done so far, the conversation was easy and unpretentious, but opinionated, but unabrasive, the people were inquisitive, but the focus wasn't 'okay new girl, tell us your spiel.' I did have to do my diagram of California, particularly the Bay Area. I didn't have a pen, so I did some artistic napkin tearing. I got home tipsy, onthe way buying a small box of Nilla Wafers and wheat thins. They're all gone now.
So, my so-far opinions of my roommates- Leslie is the one who I talked to about the apartment, my entire dealing was with her. She's very nice, but I think she's a lot lonelier than she'll admit. She monologues a lot, and it's easy to get trapped by her talking at you in the living room. It's fine, but it means it's harder for me to work out there, where it's warmer than my room. She's 29, and works freelance as a massage person and as a filmmaker. She once said to me that she used to work in theatre, but it just didn't have the social impact that you can have with film. If I knew her better, I would argue that. In some ways she's right, but there's a whole huge discussion that could happen there, and she is not really some one you can have a discussion with. She monologues a lot.
Emily is pretty awesome. We've had a couple companionable tv watchings together, and she's invited me out with her a couple times. Her friends live literally two doors away, which is pretty cool. They're the ones we went out with last night. She seems laid back and friendly. Always good.
Paolo the kitten is nuts. He'll be a good cat, but Leslie needs to teach him not to bite while playing. I've gotten him to mostly stop with me, but not totally. He also wants to chew through my laptop cord, which is all sorts of bad.
Okay, I need to see if my check got here, go boy ink, and work on my portfolio.

12:12 p.m.
prev :: next