dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

When Papa found out he began to shout and started the investigation

2007-02-07
When I was about 16 or so, I had this fantasy about running away from home, moving to New York, and working as an electrician here. But then I realized that then I would have to work in winter, and I had this great mental image of me standing around with a bunch of electricians, in front of a loading dock, around the corner from some broadway theatre, stamping our feet, blowing on our hands waiting for the truck to show up, with little piles of snow her and there. It was a great romantic image, but one that reminded me that (at the time, I thought) I hated snow. So I finished high school, went to seattle for college, and then moved to New York. To work as an assistant designer, not an electrician. But- yesterday evening, we sat around in the hall, waiting for the truck, and I stood around and talked to a bunch of electricians and riggers, and then the truck came. I was on the crew loading stuff into the elevator, but when we got to the million pieces of pipe, we all had to go outside to help with that. And there I was, standing outside a loading dock, in New York City, blowing on my hands and stamping my feet with a hourd of electricians, loading a truck. There was no snow on the ground, but other than that it was really really close to what I imagined. Colder, a bit, but still. I'm glad I finally realized my 6 years out-of-date dream. And I will never do it again. I brought my work gloves, after forgetting them on monday, but my gloves are framer's, which means that only the pinky and ring finger are complete, the other three are only covered to the second knuckle (first, in the case of your thumb). Standing outside, at 7 at night, loading steel pipe, with the temperature somewhere in the teens. I don't even know what it was with the wind chill factor. My fingers lost a touch of feeling, but I kept moving pretty weel, and we were only outside for about 20 minutes.
Today I met up with Steve, the guy who has taken me under his wing a bit. It was really great. He gave me good feedback on my portfolio. It's too bad that it really wouldn't have worked to meet with him yesterday, because I now have a bunch of stuff I want to print out and reorganize, and I can't do that till I buy ink, and I'm showing it to a designer tomorrow at 5 30. More time would be nice, though I think it'll be fine. But he's a really good guy to know, he knows all sorts of people, and (bonus part) he designs templates, both for handdrafting and computer. He gave me one while I was there, which is awesome, because I think I lost my 1/4" one. I'm a little amazed at how helpful people have been so far. Peter gave me a ton of people's emails (one of which has already led to work) and a bit of work, Matt has given me work, this guy is great for all sorts of advice, as well as more email addresses and phone numbers. Everyone is really open and totally willing to share what they know.
So this new project, the transcribing deal, is kind of interesting. I mean, it's boring as hell (or I expect it will be, when it starts) and I really wish I had some one to read it to me, so that I don't have to keep looking back and forth. I've gotten a lot better at typing without looking, but I'm not confident enough in it. Maybe I will be after this. But- it's for a restaurant in California. It's the first restaurant this guy, Aaron, has designed, and he's trying to get a toe-hold in on the business. He kept saying 'we', like I was his sidekick or something. Which would be pretty awesome, the design part is interesting because you're designing a scene, basically. You have a whole set, and you have a feeling, a theme (though 'theme' makes it sound silly) an atmosphere that you are trying to achieve, and your lights are pretty much all practical, so they have to not only light the scene, but they have to be part of it. He's looking at maybe doing some stuff in 3-d, which he's competely unfamiliar with, but I know some about. And I liked him. Lighting designers in general seem to be pretty cool people, I've only met one (professional one) who I didn't get along with. So if I got to be this guys permanent assistant, that would be fine with me. Though perhaps limiting, which I want to avoid.
Speaking of limiting, I'm more and more split about the cool full-time job. Well. I'm more and more leaning towards not wanting it. I feel like I'm doing pretty well on freelancing, and I don't want to screw that up. We'll see. They should be calling me sometime soon to go in and work for a day, trial-run style.
I need a nap. I tried to wake up at 5 30 this morning (after going to bed at mindight) to finish the damn plot for Peter, so I could get it to him by 9, but I kept hitting the snooze button, there was just no way I was getting up that early. And then it was 7 30. And I have been running around working and meeting people and walking everywhere in between since then. I may take a nap. After I run to the corner to get snacks. Maybe my check from Matt will have gotten here.
6:23 p.m.
prev :: next