dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

Don't you want me, baby

2007-01-19
So I'm up way too late, but it was so worth it. Well. Probably not. But- I did just see one of the best ad's ever. It's a commercial for some sort of high definition tv, and it caught my eye because it said Cal/Stanford Big Game at the beginning. This is the only football game that I actually sort of care about. Old habits die hard. Anyway. So it looks like of like a combination foosball table and lego set playing football, and I quickly realize that they're re-enacting the Play. The one from whatever year that was, and so, they have the little lego football player running through a little lego crowd, and running over the little lego trombone player. That will never fail to delight me.
So. Today started out depressing. I woke up later than intended, and got an email saying that the UES apartment had gone to her friend. Damn. Grouchy grouchy grouchy. But then- my day raidly improved. I sent out a bunch of replies to apartment ads, heard back from one, made plans to see it at 4. I got ready to head out, made sure to grab my flash drive. I was going to print out my resume, and then go by this place I had applied to earlier. It was a great job, and I was freaking out because I hadn't heard back, and so I decided to be all aggresive and/or pro-active and go down there in person. Anyway. I got confused getting off the subway and accidently went by the World Trade Center site. I didn't linger. It was a little wierd. I mean, it's still kind of rubble, and there are workers roaming around in it. There's still a stairway half standing. Along the fence are all kinds of pictures, and a list of names. And then there are the tourists. And I know that they're respectful tourists, but it still just seems kind of wrong. I felt a little awkward being there, so I left pretty quickly and found my way to Kinko's. Where I, umm, realized that I forgot my wallet. Damnit. It was still 2 hours before I had to be in Brooklyn, and I figured it owuld only take me about half an hour, 45 minutes from where I was, so I decided to wander. And then I saw a sign for the Brooklyn Bridge. Hey, why not, I thought. My cousin works down near there, the awesome job is down near there. And hey, I had two hours. Maybe I would walk. So I went over to the awesome job, took a deep breath, and walked in. There was a security counter, and I had to ask for the guy. But it went well. He came out, and we talked a bit. I otld him about school, and the Rep. Both are applicable experience. He said he hasn't started yet, but will be hiring in the next couple weeks. He already has my resume (which is good, because I wasn't able to print any out. Damn. I still feel stupid about that) so I left my name and phone number with him again. I think that was a really good call, he seemed pleased, and shook my hand firmly. And then as I started to walk over the bridge, it started to snow. Finally. I got my snow. And it was awesome. So pretty, and such perfect timing. It was way too cold to walk the whole way, so I hopped on the subway once I got to the other side. The apartment was good. The room is tiny, but there's a built in loft bed, and selves, and I can see how my stuff would fit. And the neighborhood is freakin awesome. The girl liked me, but needs to consult with her roommate (who is currently in Sweden. What the hell is up with people being in Northern Europe right now?) But it looks good. There's another that I'm looking at tomorrow. Similar area. Oh, we'll see. I'm tired of the hunt, and am trying not to settle, but at the same time, this does seem like a good place. Anyway, I left there significantly cheered, and it was still snowing. Made my way home, checked my email, blahdy blah. And then- and THEN- I got a phone call. I applied for a job as a lighting assistant for an off Broadway show a while ago, and I had kind of forgotten/given up on it. But then I got a phone call. Saying that I had an appointment with the director next tuesday, and to bring my portfolio. Fuck yeah! I mean, who knows. ANd now I really have to pull my portfolio together. And I don't entirely understand why they need to see my portfolio. I'm going to be an assistant, so my design experience, and aesthetic don't matter, right? Eh, who am I to question. And then I had ravioli for dinner. For some one with no actual job, and no real apartment, my life is pretty swell. But now I need to go to sleep, because the housecleaners (!) will be here at 9 am. And it is almost 1. Dang.
12:14 a.m.
prev :: next