dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

Everything a city should be.

2003-12-06
Well that was interesting. Last night (evening, rather, it wasn't even 6) Jordan (friend from school, very interesting person) and I was sitting around on West Seattle and we decided (or rather he decided, and I was easily talked into) to go to Canada. Jill wasn't able to come, she has homework to do (I have less amazingly, but still enough so that I should be doing it now) and she was bitter at us for going, but I have to say, she drove down the Oregon coast without me. I've turned down several roadtrips in exchange for talking to Matt, but that was not one of them. Jordans roommate Josh came with us, though. So-we set out around 7, driving straight up I-5. The drive wasn't very interesting, and it was dark, a little rainy, but hey. We stopped for gas in Bellingham, where one of the people in my class is from. From her description, I was expecting something smaller, like Santa Rosa 19 years ago, a city, but a small one that's still trying to kick the town image. It was big, and city like. It was Santa Rosa today. Maybe 19 years ago it was what I expected. I don't know. We continued on.

I think in the job description for Customs people is says "must be asshole". Going both ways they were really hardass, more so than I'd expected. "Where are you from? What do you do there? How do you three know each other? Why are you going?" Rapid fire suspicious questions. It was a little intimidating, which I guess was the point.

We get to Vancouver at about 10. They have wierd traffic lights, flashing green, which I have no idea what the hell meant, but it seemed fine to go. I called my canadian old trapeze teacher to ask, but he didn't answer. The main street was pretty awesome, lots of people, a guy playing electric guitar (I was reminded of all the street performers on Powell in San Francisco, I miss that), lots of light and movement. Everything a city should be. A few days ago Jordan and I were looking for food in Seattle after 10, nothing was open. A disgrace. But everything was still in full swing. We walked around for a while, just looking at everything, then decided to find a bar, since Canada is sensible and the drinking age is 18 or 19. We ended up at an Irish pub, which I was happy with. The girls were really cute, I wanted their uniform-v-neck 3/4 length sleeve black shirt, red catholic school girl skirt, knee high stocking socks and Mary Janes with a 2 inch or so heel. Hot. We hungout there for about an hour, then got pizza (93 Canadian cents for a pretty damn decent slice, which is something like 75 US cents. I need to live there.) and then headed back home. Got home around three, then crashed in bed, didn't get up till 11. I'm glad I went. It was totally worth it.

12:09 p.m.
prev :: next