dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

Summary of all

2003-11-03
So I felt like while I have been sort of updating, I haven't really given any information. So here we go. This may end up being in parts if it's too big an entry.

It's sophmore year. I like it, sort of. I just read through all my old entries, and man does last year sound nice. I miss drafting. We moved to a new building. It's okay, a little big, and we never really see other departments besides theatre (who we work and have classes with) and design (who we share a floor with). But it's kind of grown on us. I'm taking theatre history, dramatic lit, lighting fundamentals, lab, drawing, kinesiology and stage management.

Theatre history- I really like the teacher (John) but I feel sorry for him. He loves theatre history, is a dramaturg, and so encourages curiosity, wants people to think, and pursue queries, find things out, then question what they found out and discuss it all with other people. The sophmore class is unusually resistant to this. Not many people do the readings, and for the first half of the semester (yes, it's 2/3rds over, yay!) it was more a theatre philosophy class. But hey.

Dramatic lit is awesome. I love having a class where we have a lecture, we take notes, we have a test. His lectures (I think, at any rate) are really good. Sometimes dry, but I like having a class that's not discussion based. And I've ended up learning a lot from it.

Lighting fundamentals is interesting. I knew a lot towards the beginning, but now not so much. Right now we're reading Road to Mecca and starting the design process. It's interesting, learning how it "should" be done. I've always just read the play, thrown lights up, put in color, and cued. Some of it is irritating and seemingly pointless, but Roberta is so enthusiastic about everything, and it catches.

Lab is lab. I haven't been much because of Henry V, but I have to start going again thursday, ick. Right in the middle of the them working on dance costumes. Ick. Oh well.

Drawing is awesome. Some days (like today) I'm not that good, but even so, it's a class I go to. By that I mean, I don't think about it, don't think about it after. I just go, and I'm there, and it's relaxing, and then I leave. Perfect.

Kinesiology is a dancer class, so it's a little simplified. No offense to any dancers, but it's odd how teachers simplify things in non-dance dance classes. It's basically an anatomy class, with learning about how joints and muscles move, and which controls what and I'm making it sound stupid, but it's actually fairly interesting. And we're going to a cadaver lab on thursday.

Stage management is good. It's entertaining. I have a project in it that I should probably start working on.

So yes. Those are all my classes. Keeps me pretty busy. Which is good, because Matt is horrifically bogged down with studying at Stanford, and I need something to distract me or I would go insane missing him. It's worse hell this year, because we've passed over the infatuation stage into the comfortably madly in love stage. We're no longer so amazed by each other and each other's love and adoration, we're more content, we KNOW. I don't know how to describe it. I kind of miss the first stage, but I like this ease and comfort we have around each other. We developed it over the summer, and being away from it is a rend. I saw him a few weeks ago, and I'm going down again this thursday, staying till tuesday night. Yay days off. I like his apartment, he's got a good roommate, the camps is pretty impressive, though a little big for my taste. I like being there.

I haven't written much about our actual relationship, just that I miss him and love him. We've had a few really big fights, mostly about trust, like why don't I trust him, and how can he trust me now. It was ugly, and I'm thoroughly ashamed of myself, but we've pretty much gotten past it all. He's an amazing person, the best I've ever known, and he's more than worth everything. I hope we are all right, we've gotten past everything. I love him so much.

I'm waiting for this year to be over. I like it all right, but My assignment (props on Henry) was kind of frustrating, and next semester I'm co stagemanaging the Broadway Performance Hall (BPH) show with Jen, who I like, but I want to strangle after being around her too long. I can't put my finger on it, but something about her just rubs me the wrong way, and I can only supress it for so long. GRrrrrrrr. Anyway-everyone else. Dante I like, but she drives me insane and I hate her bragging. She needs to realize that she doesn't need to talk herself up here. We like her for her, not her "accomplishments". It wouldn't be so bad, but she lies about things half the time she brags. It's stupid. Beth, still Beth. Don't entirely understand her, like her most of the time. Jill, I live with. We get along, she's still my best friend here, but sometimes our arguments drive me nuts. I know that I'm the one who perpetuates them, but she changes subjects on me and argues differently, and both of us refuse to give an inch. It's rather stupid. We haven't being doing it as much. I've been hanging out with Cubby more. She's great most of the time, but like everyone else, too long, and I want to shoot some one or something. I've been rather anti-social lately. Been in a bit of a depression. I keep having the alone in a crowd feeling. I hang out with people, and that's fine, but most of the time I'm not. I really don't like it, and it makes me very glad I'm going to see Matt soon. He's very good at getting me to feel better in general, not just the time I'm with him.

8:33 p.m.
prev :: next