dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

Homesick

2003-03-18
Sorry I don't update as much anymore, been very busy. The opera I'm working on (really a musical revue, nowhere near an opera) opens thursday after this one, so I'm working on the lights every day from 7-11, and this weekend I'm in there from 9am to midnight on saturday. Get to sleep an extra hour sunday, though. Sad how happy that makes me. But I get lab off, which mean that today I had/have from noon to 7 off. I need to finish my costume history booklet, but I can't draw too well, or concentrate, so I'm taking an extended break. And enjoying the use of the computer and the peace. Tabitha will get home in about an hour. Much as I like her, I like having the apartment to myself and listening to music I like at a volume I like. It's the little things.

I got back from spring break yesterday morning. I'm homesick already. Less than seven weeks left, though. I can make it. There's so much work that's getting packed into that time, though. It's kind of scary, and I almost wish I had more time, but I don't want to be here any longer than I have to. Don't get me wrong, Seattle's great. The weather's not as cold anymore, it's a beautiful city, I can find my way pretty much anywhere, even if I get 'lost'. I like school, I like the people fpr the most part, the work is interesting, and I want to do it well, but it's not the Bay Area. It's not home. I'll probably miss it over the summer, but for now, I want to go home, ride Bart, go to lunch at Mel's with Andy, have a window next to the bed, come home to some one who really cares about me, pick up lunch at Intermezzo, walk down E. 18th and not have to look around because I've been walking down it my whole life. Talk to my dad in the basement, wake up curled and warm in Matt's arms, stop by Head Over Heels and visit circus, look out the car window at night and know at a glance that I'm in Northern California, because nowhere else has that landscape. It's home, and as much as it may be not the greatest place, it's familiar and I want to be back there.

4:30 p.m.
prev :: next