dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

Indeed

2003-02-02
I have a cat named Fred. Interesting that some one with the same name would sign my guestbook. Coincidence? I'm very curious.

I haven't written in a very long time, it feels like. A week or two? A little more, I dunno. Things are pretty good, busy. The Original Works festival started today. It's going okay, today was a little rough, but hey. Given all circumstances, it weren't bad. In general, though, today was a pretty darn good day. Slow morning, hung out with Tabitha, then went to run lights for the show. They didn't tell me a time to show up, but since it started at 5, I figured that 4 30 was an appropriate time for some one of my position to show up. Due to buses etc, I was nine minutes late. And already they were freaking out. I felt loved and needed. This is the most relaxed show I've worked on. By that, I mean that usually I'm freaking out myself opening night. No matter how small a part I play in it, I usually get jittery. Not so much this time. A tad just before we started, but after that I was fine. Missed a cue in the beginning, but it wasn't anything that anyone would notice, so I figure as long as I don't do it again, life will move on happily.

After the show I met up with Jill, and we wandered over to her apartment to eat taco pie until it was time for the next show to begin (we didn't have to run anything, and so were free to be audience members, oh the novelty). When we got there, though, there was already a long line, and it would be unethical to sneak in ahead. We dropped off Beth's keys (and I got to hear two words that I love-"fight call" I don't know why, but for some reason, I love watching actors rehearse fight scenes, so all I have to do is be in a theatre and hear "fight call" and I'm happy. I know, I'm a dork) and decided to head to Home Creepo, a rather pointless trip, it turned out, but hey. On the way back though, instead of turning up E Madison or Pine or Pike or something sensible, we kept going straight. We were both dissapointed by the fact that as soon as we knew we were really lost, we realized we knew where we were. It was sad. But we were near Dante's so we stopped by, watched the last 2/3rds of The Karate Kid, played with Dickens (I swear that dog is a cat in disguise) before heading off into the wild dark yonder. And got lost again. It was really cool, though, because it ended up going straight to my place, only from a different dirrection. Jill and I were starting to be proud of our innability to stay lost. I picked up my orange juice (for some reason lately, I've been really wanting orange juice. Wonder why) and we went back to her apartment to watch the original Parent Trap. I love that movie. It always reminds me of Tracy, a bit, because when I first met her and we were friends, that was one of our common bonding points, that we both liked it. Amazingly, I was able to convince her to let me drive myself home (okay, not quite, I stole her car keys and wouldn't give them back, and eventually she gave up and said I could drive) and so to thank her, I stopped by Miller park, where I discovered is a really good swing set. We both love swings and had yet to find any near either of our houses, so this was quite a momentous occasion. She was very happy, and I was very glad that I helped make her that happy. Tomorrow for the heck of it, we're going to Mass at St. Josephs. It should be interesting. She knows all the words, having had to suffer through a Catholic education, but I've never been to Mass. Temple, yes, mass, no. And then later we're going to try to see one of the plays we missed today. In between, I shall do homework.

Matt got into UW, which is a good thing, but he may not go there. Depends on if he gets accepted to a better school, and how much financial aid places offer. I wonder though. If he were here and living with me, would I still be able to go out with driving around with Jill, getting home at 2 inthe morning? I dunno. It would be kind of wierd having him here. Right now I lead two lives kind of, and it would be strange to have them mesh like that. Oh well, if it doesn't happen next year, it'll be the year after that. I'll be glad when I can live with him. It gets a bit stressful, having a long distance relationship. I miss him a lot.

Alrighty, I'm very tired, and I have to be up in time for the 11 00 mass, so I'm off to bed. Goodnight, I'll try to write soon.

1:59 a.m.
prev :: next