dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

A day is a day is a day

2003-01-17
Hello. Don't know what to write, I'm tired and have a headache and 45 minutes to kill before I go and watch rehearsal for a show in a week long festival thing that I'm working. Today was pretty good, nothing much to tell, other than that I got a raspberry muffin, and it was really good. Little things like that make me happy. And I finally started reading Deadeye Dick, by Kurt Vonnegut. I like his books, so I'm glad I've got a chance now to start on another one.

I found my Pogues CD that's been missing for a few months, as well. You know, one of the first things Tabitha told me, before we moved in together, is that one thing she hates is when people put CD's in the wrong cases. I agree, we moved on. I picked up my Bjork CD's this morning, wanting to listen to them on the wayto school, open one, and find Tracy Chapman underneath. Two CD's in one case bothers me more than the wrong CD. I don't know about Tabitha, though. So on sudden inspiration I open the other, and there's my damn Pogues, who Tabitha had no idea what happened to. What happens is she takes my CD's out to listen to hers, doesn't know where to put them, and ends up putting them in whatever case is near. I've watched her do this many times. Grrrr. I hate petty hipocrisy like that. Oh well. Maybe I'll just move hers around, switch cases, to get even. No, I won't do that. I'm not that silly and vindictive. Fun to think about, though. I had lunch with Beth, which was interesting. I like her, despite the fact that she talks really loud, and disregards whatever you say to continue with her point. She's interesting to watch. I had bagels. Now I'm full. I think I'm full from the raspberry muffin, though. That was much more recent.

Jill and I started a tradition of watching Gilmore Girls and eating breakfast with Tabitha on tuesday nights. We invited Chelsea to come along for this coming tuesday. I think she and Tabitha will get along really well. They're both bitchy girls with morals. Jill agrees with me that they'll like each other. I've always been wary of introducing groups of friends from different places. I'm always really worried about it, but I'm starting to relax. It took Tabitha and Jill a while, but now they get along, so that's good. Yes, I'm aware that I'm kind of babbling right now. It helps to fill up the time. I'm regretting volunteering for this show, but there's not really anyone else to who would do it otherwise. It'll be good to work on a show again. I wish Matt were going to be up here for it. Other than the crap he saw this summer, he hasn't seen something I've worked on. Actually, now that I think of it, I think I'd rather he be up here for the opera. Beth and I are master electricians for that, meaning we put up and focus all the lights, make sure they're plugged into the right places, and program all the cues into the board. We're also running the board, which I'm happy about. I really like running light boards. The opera isn't really an opera, though. It's a musical revue, with a lot of bad music. There's a few songs that I really like, but the rest are slightly torturous. So maybe that wouldn't be good for him to see. I guess what I want is for him to be able to see a show that I worked on, that I put a lot into, and that he likes, and would like even if it weren't my work. I know that I'll be here another three years, and there's plenty of time for that, and I'll be doing shows after college that I'll probably care about more, but for some reason I have a slight sense of urgency, like I want it to happen NOW. Oh well. Got all the time in the world.

6:00 p.m.
prev :: next