dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

...but instead, he came up, and he started leading us all in Amazing Grace.

2002-10-31
Wow. College just got really...college-like. In theatre graphics, we're no longer doing drafting, it's not more play analysis and model-making. I've spent the past few days learning how to use the UW library system. It's a really really nice campus, and the Suzzallo library is so gorgeous. It's a big Gothic cathedral building, and in the reading room, you've got all the stained glass windows and everthing, you almost don't want to read, just sit there and look at everything. The drama library is small, but really good. Anything you ever wanted to know pertaining to theatre is there, I wanted to just sit there and read everything, but it closed at six last night. I've been there for a few reasons, the more immediate is the theatre graphics homework. We had to do have a complete prop list with notes, three dimensioned sketches (sketches, thank god, not drafts) and research behind our choices, all by this morning. I finished this morning, fortunately. It wasn't all that hard, but time wise I wasn't able to do as much as I would have liked, and so it seemed more hard. I'm going to be spending sunday working on the homework due tuesday. It all has to be creative and thoughtful, that's the hard part. Sometimes I almost wish I were doing math or science or something, where you just do the poblem, spit out the answer, none of the "I picked this because this in the script indicates that he hates this, and that gave me this image, and when I researched my image, I came up with this idea". Sometimes you just don't feel inspired, you know? And Tooth of Crime is an incredibly hard play to understand. Further proof that Sam Shepard is insane. It didn't help that I went to the tech rehearsal of The Laramie Project last night and so didn't get home till midnight. Oops. Oh well. I got done what I needed to and got to be in a theatre for a while too.

I'm also nominally researching my science fair project, all the fun sound stuff. Also remembered that I have to write, by Nov. 12, a play evaluation thing. So busy. I'm glad, though. I like this kind of busy, where it's all stuff that I'm interested in. I wish I didn't need to sleep as much, I'd get so much more done. Need to get in the habit of getting up and getting moving as soon as I wake up. That would help too. There's never enough time. So much readin to do, too. In class today, people were talking about other Shepard plays, and I really want to read them, to compare, and also just to have filed away in my bank of plays I know. Beth said that True West was playing downtown right now. Might take Matt to that. That or The Tempest. Not sure which, have to research. yet another thing to do. Good times. Alrighty, I think I'm going to go start on all that stuff now. Apologies to anyone bored by the list-y nature of this entry, writing quickly and what's on my mind. Going now.

11:20 a.m.
prev :: next