dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

And this was odd because it was the middle of the night

2002-10-21
Bev would hurt me if she knew, but she doesn't yet. You see, I have terrible secret that I have to keep from her. I have not yet registered to vote. I know. It's awful. Though I have lived in the lovely state of Washington for more than 30 days, I have not yet been employed here, and therefore, I believe, am not a Washington resident. I am, however, still a Californian resident. So why have I not yet registered there, sending in an absentee ballot? A few reasons. One being that I don't live there anymore, really. Though I am almost definitely moving back after college, I'm being bad and focussing on the immediate future. Whatever issues get voted on now have no influence on me because I'm not there. Very untrue, whatever happens now will most likely bite me in the ass in 4 years and I'll regret not contributing my 2 cents. My second reason is simply laziness, not bothering to pursue getting the forms etc etc. Bad bad bad. The third involving a bit of romantic fooishness. Berkeley has more interesting things to vote on in general. (Oakland needs more people who care to vote, it really sucks.) Just by coincidence, some one I love very much lives in Berkeley, in order to vote on Berkeley issues, one would need a Berkeley address, therefore his would be the ideal one to use, yes? So, I have not registered to vote because I'm not a resident, I'm too lazy, and I want to vote in a city other than my rightful one in part because my boyfriend lives there. There you have it.

My day was all right. It's mid-term conference week, which basically means that I have no tech classes (still have english, though) and instead I meet with all my teachers and they tell me how I'm doing in the class. I was way early to scenic fundamentals, so I got to help out and cut plywood, yay me, good times. Tres is the first person who didn't tell me I should be taking it easy. It was very nice. I pushed my body, and it delivered. I can carry stuff, yay! People also took way longer iin their conferences than was expected, like Dante, who took 25 minutes, grrrr. She has a huge crush on Greg (scene shop teacher). Apparently so do Beth and Chelsea. Wierd. He's a nice guy, but I really don't see it, no matter how objectively I think. Oh well, no one else does either. I'm going good in that class, la dee dah. He liked my science fair idea. Science fair is basically where the tech freshman do a project, theatre related, that you can set up as a booth thing, where people can read stuff, and there's stuff for them to do. Dante's doing fall arrest equiptment, harnesses, safety codes, stuff like that. Says she's going to build a sort of climbing wall. Anne Marie is going to burn cloth, see which material are more fire proof, maybe stuff about how to fire proof cloth without changing how it looks or moves (i.e. making it too stiff or something) and I, on brilliant inspiration that hit me about 30 minutes before I talked to him, am going to be doing acoustical stuff (which is funny because my hearing sucks). Stuff like what shapes of buildings are better for music, better for singing, better for talking, why, what materials work best, etc etc. Can also do theatre history stuff (greek ampitheatres were perfect, why was that, how have theatres evolved to accomadate sound etc etc). Good stuff, lots of different things for me to cover, so if I can't find much about one aspect, it's all right, there's a truckload more about another. Good times.

Then went for the intro to design conference, I have an A in that class, yay me, then we (Jill, Cubby and I) went over to Clarks, as he had promised me pancakes. Dante was already there, along with a few other people. there's always a random assortment of people at Clarks. It took me a bit to figure out who actually lived there. We ate, talked about random stuff, then I got to bore them silly with the Dance Concert video. Oh! I must explain. This had come about because at 10 last night, just as Tabitha and I were going to bed, the buzzer rang. It's wierd, you can only hear the person if you hold down the Talk button, rather than the Listen one. So after a bit of confusion, we realized it was Clark and Jill, dropping by after drafting, light hanging and Chinese food. So they came up, I showed them Tucker, Jill thinks he's fixable (Dave [dept. chair] also recommended some frame shops, check them tomorrow or something) and they ended staying and talking till one in the morning. Amid the religious discussions, we started talking about tech, and I had a wild urge to watch dance concert again. My tv sucks, however, so we agreed to watch it at Clarks the next day, i.e. today. Which brings me back to my story. I don't know what they thought of my lights, I think they liked parts, but videos suck for showing stuff like that, and an hour and a half of dance video gets pretty boring after not too long. So yeah. English was not bad. Not much to say there.

Oh, and it turns out that I just might be master electrician for a senior project, how much does that rock? It might conflict with the original works thing, I have to check, but it would be pretty cool if I could do both. So anyway, that pretty much catches up my news, I go now, hope everyone has a lovely day, watch out for traffic, and be nice to the lady at the DMV.

6:19 p.m.
prev :: next