dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

She doesn't have to say she's faithful, yet she's true like ice, like fire

2002-10-07
Hello everyone! I'm having a lovely day, despite the fact that I'm lacking in sleep a tad. Or perhaps because of it. This morning I welded, and I'm actually pretty decent at it. It was fun. It's really hard to see what you're doing through the mask, though. I kind of like playing with the grinder and sanders more. Lots of sparks that you can look at without burning your eyes out, there's a plus. I have a test on monday about knots and metal. SHouldn't be too hard, I know over half the knots offhand, just need to remind myseld of the others. And the metal will be easy to study for. In two weeks I have to have a proposal for a science fair project. It has to be tech and science related, like one person did how the light of arc welding affects your eyes, how it damages them, some one else did stuff about recipes for stage blood, and which recipes will stain and all. It has to be interesting, something not covered in class, and can be set up as an interactive booth. Don't know what I'm going to do yet, but I have two weeks to figure it out. All I have to have then is a topic, a quick description of what people will do and see at my booth, and a few sources that I can get information from. Good times.

Intro to design was 15 minutes today. We had had to dsign some sort of "motif" that could be repeated to make a good pattern, so we all showed ours, and he gave every one a dollar to make photocopies with. He looked at mine, turned it in circles and said something like "ooh, this is really good, I see a bird there and there's something else we won't mention, and from this angle it just is nice. We'll have to get rid of those other images later" Everyone cracked up, remembering both my graphic acetate line drawing, and a drawing that I did of Puget Sound for Tabitha last night. Dante said "How long has it been since you've seen Matt?" I dunno, I couldn't really see anything sexual in the motif thingy that I did, but whatever. So after every one was done laughing at me, we dispersed and I ran into Leah Petis on the stairs of Harvard House 1 (home of the performance production office). Original Works is a nine day little festivally thing in february that all students are welcome to enter with full length plays, one acts, shorts, improvs, dances etc etc. I signed on to work it, along with Dante, Clark, Beth and Chelsea. It's in two different theatres, so we'll be split up. I talked to Leah today (she's the production manager) and she was asking what I was interested in doing, and it ends up that I'll be doing both lights and stagemanaging the smalled theatre. Yay me! I'm very happy about that. A little dissapointed because Dante's going to be in Skinner, so I can't work with her, but this way I'll get to do more, and I'll also be more in charge of stuff. Dante would run things completely if I worked with her, and Leah said she was going to put Clark with me then, and for some reason it'll be a lot easier to order him around. I hate ordering people around, but as a stagemanager and lighting designer, it's sort of my job. It'll get easier. Only drawback to that is that I think and Tabitha is sure that Clark has a crush on me. I'll just have to talk about Matt around him a lot, that won't be difficult. Matt's going to be here again, starting thursday night. Yay. Very happy about that. I didn't think I'd get to see him again so soon, that makes me happy. He makes me happy.

Okay, now that I'm done staring into space grinning like an idiot-I also put a note in Roberta's box telling her I was interested in her work study job. I can't rememebr if I mentioned it here already or not, but it would be cleaning, repairing and organizing lighting equiptment. I can so do that, and what's more, I like doing stuff like that. I really hope I get it. Talked to me parents the other day, my dad's very happy that I'm learning welding. Apparently they're (the landlord) repaining our house, so they've been sanding down the entire outside, and both the cats were terrified of that. They also cut the rose bushes down tot about 18 inches. Bastards. I hate that. You go away, and you know that while you're not there, life continues on, and things change, but they're not supposed to. That's where I grew up, it's not supposed to be different when I go back. I hope they repaint it the same colors. I'd cry if they didn't, I really would. It would be as if they'd moved to a completely different place while I was gone, that would be awful.

I don't know where my home is or who I am right now. My home is where I grew up in Oakland, yes, but over the summer I felt so much more at home at Matt's, and now Seattle is where I live, that's home. But none of them feel like it. I've moved on from 1729, Matt's I wasn't there long enough, and here I haven't been long enough. None fit. And for the first 16 years of my life, I was Rosa, but that doesn't sound right anymore. For the past two I've been Thea, but I still, whenever I see my name written, don't really think of that as me. It's all very confusing. I avoid thinking about it too much, but sometimes it bothers me. I don't know. Anyway, I'm going to go now and enjoy the nonexistent sun now.

2:04 p.m.
prev :: next