dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

drafting and food, good stuff

2002-09-30
My bed feels too big now.

I was wrong, it wasn't as hard this time. That does not mean it was anywhere near easy. But now I know that I'll see Matt again, sooner this time, only three weeks instead of five. It was so nice having him up here. Friday we took him all over downtown, and Tabitha got to visit the worlds first Starbucks. Jack had said it was just a dinky little place, but I liked it. I like places like that, that feel like they have a history, with worn down floorboards and all. Modern things feel less permanent. We upheld tradition and got our chicken curry from the place in Westlake Center. Mall food isn't supposed to be that good. We always get it, even though we keep saying that this time we'll try some of the other food. Oh well.

Drafting on saturday was amusing. I had to go in to work on my isometric view of a stool (not half as hard as the computer table with the wierd curves that we just finished) and Matt came with me. After a bit, he got either bored with D&D work, or distracted by what I was doing, but he took the vellum that I had messed up on and did the assignment as well. His looks really good, Dante and I were telling him he wasn't allowed to show us up. Amazingly, he'd never used a scale rule before. He had, in his six previous years of drafting, just down things in full scale or on CAD. It seems to me that learning how to use a scale rule is an integral part of drafting. WOnder why no one thought to say, "well, we're doing everything in real scale, but if you're ever not, here's a handy little tool" It's all very strange.

Saturday we also did bulk shopping, we had Ruby's car with us, so we were able to get a lot of food. We're set for the next three weeks to a month.

I'll put sunday and today in another entry, some one needs to type up a paper here.

12:24 p.m.
prev :: next