dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

evil orthograpics

2002-09-19
Wow. Drafting just got really hard. Orthographic projections are strictly two dimensional drawings of three views of an object, top, front, and one side. Not too hard, yes? That's what I thought. Then today we were assigned an orthographic projection of this computer table. It's got all kinds of strange curves (the angle of the curve changes, so you could just use an arc, but that would be innaccurate)and it was designed in metric, so there are all sorts of strange measurements. She originally had us doing it in 3 inch scale, which is huge, but that wouldnd't fit on the paper, so we took it down to 1 1/2 inch, which is better, but it's hard to guess. On the ruler, it only marks down to 1/4 inches, and there are a lot of 3/8ths inch things, so you just have to guess. By tuesday we "should have" (which means we will be devastatingly behind if we do not have) everything drawn out lightly, the corners not cut off yet, still has all the guide lines, and then the finished thing, complete with dimensions and hidden lines and notes) is due thursday. I have one view (front) lightly done without the hidden lines (lines that are there but are not visible from that view. We still have to indicate that they're there)and I was about to start on the top view (which, incidently, will be the hardest) when lab ended. I need my own scale rule. I'll get that tomorrow when I'm at the bookstore. I really really want this to be perfect. I'm going to spend all saturday in the drafting room, although I doubt that it will take all day. If I do stay there all day, I might as well completely finish it, but I think I want Roberta to look at it tuesday, see if I need to correct anything. Yes, I'm stressing out a little about this. It's my hardest class, as well as the one I like the most. I have, from 8th grade, this firm conviction that I'm GOOD at drafting, and I don't want to in any way be disillusioned. So yeah.

I fence tonight, yay. That will be fun. Clarks coming with me, too, so I'll get to see how he is. Probably better than me, but it'll be a good challenge. I welcome it (picture the maniacal grin). Yeah, I know, I'm strange. At least I'm good at it and take pride in it. I wonder if I can walk down to Noahs and the all the way to the North campus in 35 minutes. I wonder if I should spend money on food. What the hell. I go now, in search of bagels.

12:12 p.m.
prev :: next