dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

first lesson of college

2002-09-04
Wow. I need to start wearing gloves in the morning. Hands were hurting during my bike ride. glasses of some sort would be nice, too, as I'm always crying when I get to the cafe. No, no one beats me. But I go really fast, and it's a little windy as well.

Okay, lesson number one of college life-no parties on weeknights! I'm really glad I went, though. It was a lot of fun.

Starting at the beginning: My classes are all going to kill me financially. I have about three of 4 hundred dollars worth of stuff to buy still. Four books that I know of, but I still have three classes to go to, who knows what they'll want by way of books and materials. I managed to get my drafting supplies for 75 dollars ( I didn't get a couple of non essentials, like a dust brush) I just had to be an idiot, though. I so could have stolen my dads drafting stuff, or gotten it from Matt, but noooooo. Oh well. Now I have my own, and I got good stuff, it'll last me far beyond college. After we had the intro to classes (the scene shop is gorgeos. I cannot wait to work there, you have no idea. I got costumes first semester, though, which is actually what I wanted, as you work on bigger shows in the spring. So I'll be in my strength then) I went with Beth to the UW bookstore and we cried together about how much this is all costing, then we went to Home Creepo, got her tools that she needed. Love hanging out with her, she has so much energy and she's brilliant. Girl got into Yale, with a 1450 SAT, for christs sake! We were both starving at that point (all we'd really had that day was a lame-o lunch they provided, mostly random vegetables) so we went back to her place and she made me dinner (what's with all these women cooking for me? Hey, I'm not complaining!) Her roommate, Kirsten (pronounced Cheer-sten) invited us to a marguerita party a few blocks away. After Tabitha got there, we walked over, and after a little difficulty, found the apartment. I met a dork! Name's David, Beth had been telling me about him earlier, and how they had had a dork contest. He played Dand D (no time for it now, but he plays with his brothers when he goes home), is an actor, can JUGGLE so incredibly well, and used to fence. We're meeting up thius evening so he can teach me juggling stuff. Turns out he has always wanted to to Spanish Web, so I told him that if he could find one, I'd teach him everything I knew on it. Good trade. I'm jealous, though. His girlfriend is coming up on friday, I have to wait another 22 days to see Matt. Oh well, it'll go fast enough. I'm going to be so fucking busy soon. Sleep will be a fond memory. Slept in this morning, till 7. No work out for me, besides the hellish bike ride. How sad. I really want to get myself in the habit of it, so that it's just automatic. Anyway, back to the party. Got to hang out with lots of very cool people, most of them theatre people. Good times, funny drunk people. No one seriously, badly drunk, but bad enough that no one noticed me and Beth and Tabitha being wierd. It was lots of fun. At a little after 11, I desided that I should go home and sleep, so we left. Met the cops on the way down. Only thing I could think of was Breakfast at Tiffanies, when Audrey Hepburn leaves just as the cops get there, and points them up to the apartment. We just said"excuse us" very politely and kept going. It was such perfect classic timing, though. I was happy. So I'm tired now, but if I hadn't gone, I wouldn't have a juggling buddy. Yep yep. Okay, I have to go now, have no money, so I can't run over on my free minutes at the computer. More later, when I write about whatever today will bring, dunt DUN DUUNN....

7:51 a.m.
prev :: next