dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

Costumes, eek

2002-09-04
I am officially terrified of costume shop. I'm going to have to sew (both hand and machine) and learn to draw my own patterns, and how to execute them. It'll be fine, I'm sure, but I think that that's the class I'll have the most serious mental block against, thereby making it my hardest class. I'll work on that. The woman who teaches it is really nice, though. One of those people who speaks quietly, but you can still hear her, and every one listens. She's deaf in one ear (like Ruby across the hall, interesting coincidence) and inadvertently explained something to me. The loss of hearing is like loss of sight, in that when your deaf or hard of hearing, you lose the ability to determine the direction sound is coming from (like the loss of depth perception when blind in one eye). I hadn't known that before, but now I know why I can never tell sound direction (for those who didn't know, I have a moderate hearing loss in my left ear, mild in my right. I can function fine, don't even use a hearing aid, but I've been noticing lately that I never hear people calling me, and some one usually has to hit me before I hear my cell phone. Not good). It's called something like loss of stereoscopics, but I'm not sure. Thank god I only have to buy one book for that class. So far, that's five books. Two more classes, though. I don't think my mother realizes that I have no cash whatsoever right now, as she told me to go ahead and buy whatever books I needed, and she'd send me money to cover part of it. Think I'll have to cash checks through Tabitha (oh, she'll love that). I hate not having a bank account!!! It really really sucks. Alrighty, I'm going to go check my mailbox here, see if I can find the other techies again; I kind of lost them when I rode my bike over and they walked, oops.
11:20 a.m.
prev :: next