dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

This one goes out to the one I love

2002-08-30
That song was playing earlier. I think it's by REM, but I'm not sure. Came on just as I was writing to Matt, found it disturbingly fitting-"this one goes out to the one I love, this one goes out to the one I left behind" Maybe I'm just superstitious, but coincidences like that always make me think.

Grrrrr. The computer won't let me open my resume, don't know why. Computers scare me, frankly, so I'm not really going to try any longer. You never know when they'll blow up or something. Okay, maybe not blow up, but freeze and erase everything and then you have to go get some one to help you fix it, and everyone knows that you killed it, and it's just bad.

I forgot to add the other day-while we were at Beth's house listening to music, a song with a swing beat came on, I started sort of, while sitting down, tapping my feet in the step pattern (tool swing in 9th grade for a while) and Beth noticed. Turns out she can swing, so we danced a bit, she's much better than I am. It ended up with a good trade. She's going to reteach me how to swing, and I'll teach her handstands and back walkovers. She's actually not bad already. Just needs to kick harder and keep her legs tight. She's a fast learner, though. It's funny, all the techies (or at least so far as I can see) are all extrememly literate, smart underachievers. All of us got shit grades, but fairly high SAT/ACT scores, and write really well. It's funny. Of course, we work around language so much, that being one of the main elements of theatre, so it's not too much of a surprise that we can speak and write better than, say, the average engineer (hehehe, couldn't resist!). And I guess that the underachiever bit isn't a surprise either, because tech tends to be a passion, one that you throw yourself into, ignoring any other work. So I guess it makes sense. But this is the first time it's been so obvious a trend.

Hmmmm. I think my hour is coming to an end, but I don't want to stop typing. It's 12 cents a minute after the first hour (before 9 am, that is. During the day it's only the first 20 minutes that are free). I suppose I should, as I don't have anything else to write at the moment. I just sent out this address to most people I know, wonder who will actually read it.

Last night wasn't as hot, fortunately. Got to sleep at a semi-decent hour. Tabitha and I have different whatchamacallits. Stop the dirty minds!!! Can't think of the word. She listens to the radio at night. I think she has to have it on to fall asleep. I can deal with that, but it's harder for me to fall asleep with it on. It's also a bit disconcerting to wake up in the morning with it on. Oh well. I can adapt. I do that a lot, adapt to other people's routines and all so that they don't have to change for me. I suppose that's a bad thing, but who knows. Makes thigns run smoother overall, so who cares if I'm a bit uncomfortable.

Okay, do have to go now, don't want to be handing over my lifes saving to this cafe, which I'll end up doing if I keep sitting here.

1:12 a.m.
prev :: next