dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

We sure are cute for two ugly people

2007-04-24
Food coma.
I had a meeting today with H to hammer out the plot for this musical. It took about a half hour. May be 40 minutes. I've never seen a plot be made that swiftly or desicively. It was exciting. I like working with him, he's very pragmatic and efficient, and I'm going to learn a lot on this show. It's an Express console, which is pretty basic and small, but a solid computer lightboard, and one that I have a decent amount of experience with. But- we're using two moving lights. Fairly basic ones, but I've never programmed movers myself. So this will be interesting. I have to pick color. And put the plot into vectorworks. That won't take too long, I think I'll do it tomorrow morning.
I'm starting to feel a little scattered and crazy, focusing on 3 shows at once. One will be over pretty soon, though.
So, my face gets pretty dry, which is all sorts of annoying. Especially since most moisturizers tend to make me break out. So, I found sweet almond oil, and it pretty much works, which is great. I got it at this place in Berkeley, I use it once in a while when I need to. It's a 5 oz. bottle, or something like that, and I've used barely any, a little goes a long way with it. In the bathroom, there's a shelving thing where Leslie has all her body sprays and lotions and such, and I set it on there. Which may have been a bad idea. Anyway. About a week or two ago, it dissapeared. I didn't really think anything, thinking that maybe I had absentmindedly carried it into my room and set it somewhere odd. Then, a couple days ago, it reappeared. It seemed still mostly full, but the label was stained, as if it had spilled. So I think, maybe some one knocked it over and the lid wasn't tight, and they cleaned it up and forgot to put it back. Fine, whatever, I'm just glad it's back. But then today, it was missing again.
Me- Hey Leslie, there used to be a bottle of almond oil in the bathroom, do you know where it went?
Leslie- OH. .. That was yours?
Me- yeah
Leslie- oh. I didn't know that.. where did you get it?
Me- California
(she looks properly horrified at what she's apparently done)
Leslie- Can you get it online or something? I didn't know it was yours
Me- Well, if it wasn't yours, then it was clearly either mine of Emily's. yeah, I'm sure I can find it somewhere around here.
Leslie- Wait, actually, I think there's a little bit left
Me- What? It was mostly full. You really don't need to use much
Leslie- no, I was using it for something else
Me- what on earth for?
Leslie (evasively)- ... no, just something else. Anyway, I didn't know it was yours, I just saw it there..
Me- yeah, I love when that happens! Things just show up out of the ether!
At this point I walk away, pick up my bag and leave. WTF? Seriously. I can imagine her finding it, and thinking 'hmmm, I don't remember buying this, but I do waste an awful lot of money on various perfumes and shit, so maybe it is.' The part that I cannot imagine is how she didn't think to ask anyone, and how she proceeded to use THE ENTIRE BOTTLE. This is quite literally oil. You really need a spot the size of a dime to cover your face, and sometimes that's even a little much. I told this story to someone, and his mind immediately went to the idea that she was using it as lubricant (hence her evasiveness), but I really don't think so. My only guess is that since she's a masseuse (and given her looks (catty time), a legitimate one, rather that a "masseuse", she was using it as body oil on her clients.
The whole thing is pretty absurd and weird. I've never had to deal with this sort of thing before, so it's a little surreal.
I just went and checked, and it's back. There's a little under half left. Fucking ridiculous. Anyway. I just think it' stupid in general. And violating. And I hate that oil got all over the label. But I'm not actually angry about it. Who knows.
3:00 p.m.
prev :: next