dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

In her face, the mirror of your dreams

2007-04-18
Woo! Lazygood day today. I went to the museum where Tenaya works and picked up tickets to some movie that's there tonight, and then took them over to Emily, who wanted them in the first place; I was but the mesenger. It was a nice little trip, though, and Emily works at a gallery in Chelsea, so I got to explore around there a little, and see where she works. On the way over, she grabbed my sleeve and hissed "ohmygod. Look! Over there! Across the street!" Itwas Paul Rudd. And a couple friends. It was awesome. He was very cute, despite (because?) being unshaven and smoking. I have now seen a celebrity in New York. It was exciting.
I looked around Emily's gallery some, which is all new media type thing, video and installation and such forth. There was interesting stuff, and I liked listening to her talk about art. I mean, I knew she was an art or art history major, but she really knows it, and feels it, I think. Her whole building is art gallerys, so I wandered around the other floors a bit. I stopped and left after I found a collectionthat I absolutely loved. I didn't want to look at anything else after that.
I walked slowly over to some subway stop or other, took the subway, read. I stopped by and got wheat thins and orange juice and! goat gouda! at the bodega on the corner. Goat gouda is one of the best cheeses ever. It's great for just kind of snacking on, and I haven't been able to find it for about 2 months now. So I was very excited about that. I had been planning on getting eggs, but then I saw that, and for some reason I had it set in my head that I was only picking up three things. Odd.
So last night. Grindhouse. Fabulous. Sexy, violent, bloody, fantastic. I think I might be seeing it again next tuesday, the two Emily's didn't get to go this time, and so are thinking about going then. We talked about them for a while. Steven was kind of dissatisfied by the second half. He thought it was choopy, disjointed, and that there was too much dialogue, that it didn't keep with the genre enough. I kind of disagree. I mean, he's kind of right, but Tarantino is really interested in people. I mean, he's all about the gore and the mind games and the violence. But he seems to really like just watching people interact in not especially special circumstances. So yes, it would have been nice to have more of a connect, and yeah, he should have killed more people (can't believe I just aid that) I still kind of maybe liked it better. I'm not sure. It might win just because of the sheer grossness factor of the first one. Ross tried to make the argument that the second one was empowering for women. Maybe. I don't really buy, it, though. Because even though there was beautiful angry vindicating ass-kickery, it was still kind of in the exploitative 'god that's hot' way. Which, you know, it was. Who knows. I don't really feel strongly one way or the other. And of course, there was good music throughout. Of course.
The cat's birthday party happened. There was cheese and crackers and wine, and a pretty awesome video of their lives, as it were. Then we watched most of Cape Fear. I now need to see the rest of it. Dang.
6:08 p.m.
prev :: next