dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

It was always mesh and lace

2007-04-05
Ridiculous. I'm at a focus call right now. I have nothing to do. The master electrian is running the call, so I am just taking notes. I think we're a little over halfway done. And there have been three notes. I guess I shouldn't complain about getting paid to sit on my ass and write this and check my email. But I'd like to be useful. I will be this weekend, though, so that's good. I'm also running on barely any sleep (5 hours spread out over the last 48 hours. And counting) so it's a good thing I'm not doing anything. I'd probably fuck it up.
So last night there was a get together thingie at a bar, and nearly every lighting designer in New York was invited. So, of course I went. It was interesting. And by interesting, I mean I knew and recognized nearly no one. After wandering about by myself and bummin gin on a few different conversations, I finally found H, the guy I'm doing the show with next month. He knows a ton of people, so I followed him around and gave out my card and such. I met the guy who created the program that near-literally everyone uses for paperwork. And the guy who designed Chicago. And some other people. They should all hire me. I stuck around till about 1. It didn't start till 10 30, which kind of sucked. I didn't want to be up that late, but I couldn't really pass up the connection opportunity.
So I got home around two, went to sleep, and woke up at 4 45am, so that I could leave at 5 30, so that I could get to Penn Station by 6 30, so I could catch the 6 49 train. Ick. It's been a good day so far, though, despite being tired out of my mind. Matt and I had a good companionable train ride. We're supposed to go till 5 tonight, but I think we're nearly done. It shouldn't be later than 2, unless we decide to start writing cues or something. I want to go home and sleep.
I also need to read As You Like It. I am meeting up with Lyricus tomorrow to talk Vision. Capital V. I'm excited. I mean, it's paying me nothing, but it's a shakespeare, and I've wanted to work on one. I did Midsummer last year for a middle school, but I'm so stupidly familiar with that I could light it in my sleep. I'm bored of it. Granted, I know the Scottish play up down and sideways and I cannot wait to work on that someday. Anyway. I also am excited about working with Lyricus. I have no idea what it will be like at all, but I imagine it will be idealistic and engaging and impassioned. I hope I can do him and the production justice.
So the play that I'm doing with H. It's kind of a silly crazy musical, kids will be performing it, easy deal. But we're co-designing it. And actually, only the plot is 'co' because he leaves town the day of focus. And so I'm doing all the cueing. And so it's kind of an audition piece, and will determine if he recommends me for stuff. Bah.
Lunchtime.
11:25 a.m.
prev :: next