dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

All you rambling boys of pleasure, and you ladies of easy leisure

2007-04-01
Things! Stuff! Mine! Woo! It all arrived yesterday, and is now basically totally unpacked and settled. Sort of. My books are in a pile/row along one wall. All of the flattened boxes are in the middle of the floor. I have a box of clothes I'm getting rid of. There's a few things that I'm not sure where they should go/where they'll fit. But no matter. It's starting to look like my room, finally. And I have my books.
The german in the living room was pretty cool. It turned out that he's also a lighting guy, we talked about that a little. Leslie tends to dominate the conversation wherever she is, which was too bad. He was reading Dostoyevsky's Ghosts, and I talked to him about The Tin Drum a little. I wish I could have talked to him more without Leslie and her blabbering. Whatever.
A couple days ago, I met up with H and we went to see a play. The first half of a play, at any rate. I'm co-designing a show with him next month, so we were meeting the producer lady, and checking out the space. The musical kind of sucked. Through no real fault of the actors (though a couple could have used some fine tuning). I was kind of tired, and he was leaving to go to a production meeting, and I could pretty much predict the rest of it from the song titles, and tell where it was going, so I went home. I walked around a little beforehand; it was a really nice night. I wandered through Washington Square Park, which I hadn't done before. And then just kept walking, zigzaging around until I found myself at a subway entrance.
I'm looking forward to working with H, he's pretty entertaining. We went and got a drink and talked before hand. A friend of his draws Wolverine, so he has a shield agent named after him. Or something. Pretty cool. And he bought my drink. I'm poor right now.
While we were unloading the truck, Maura and Ross and two of their friends who I hadn't met yet showed up, and totally took over and carried everything. Crazy. It was really pretty awesome and fortuitous. And then of course I haven't seen them since. Maura borrowed a pair of my shoes for an interview, so maybe they'll call me tonight. (What? Where's the logic? It's there. Trust me. She still has my boots, they saw me the other day, I owe them all a drink for helping... you see?)
I've been reading a lot lately. This is good. I've also been sitting in front of my computer and not sleeping a lot. This is not so good. I need work. I'm not despairing, but there's kind of a low burning worry that's starting to be constant. Oh well. Next thursday is the focus call at that ivy league school in NJ, for the show I'm assisting Matt on. I'm excited. I talked to him about it today a little. In the next few days, I'm going to start poring over the plot and paperwork and getting myself familiar and arranged. That will keep me busy and engaged.
I'm waiting on two paychecks. This is irritating.
Also, tomorrow night I'm going to a Seder. Pesach, as my mom reminded me this morning. It should be interesting. I haven't been to one since junior year, at Molly's, and that one barely counts. I like Passover, though. Always have. I just hope that I'm not ridiculously out of the loop and ignorant. My aunt said that it was hangin gout, discussion and singing, then eating, then more discussion and singing. Way to be vague. Oh well. I'll just concentrate on being charming or something. Sarah is getting mack sometime today or tomorrow from Amsterdam. I'm excited to hear about that. She also is bringing me cheese.
Speaking of cheese. Or rather, food, I need to go partake. It's 8 30, and I have been living on craisins all day. Yuck. This is what happens when I am utterly avoiding making a descision. Maybe I'll fix the coffee table, too. Wouldn't that be helpful.
8:05 p.m.
prev :: next