dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

i turned my face away, and dreamed about you

2007-02-11
So I've been very social in the last two days. Or one day, really. Last night I was watching the SImpsons when Emily came home, and then we switched over to SVU for 3 hours. It's great that she likes it as well, but bad that she's basically enabling me in my Law and Order habit. What can you do. So then at about midnight or a little after we met up with Ross and Maura, her friends from next door, and went to a bar. I've never gone out that late before. I'm a big pansy-ass who went to a weird college, so going out for me is making plans to go somewhere at 8 or 9 in the evening. So this was a new experience for me, and definitely a good one. We went to a different bar, I slowly slowly nursed a Bass ale (blech. I don't like beer, or ale, or lager. Cider is the closest I can get to those. But it was cheaper, it's in the range of what everyone else was drinking, and I figure it's a taste I should at least somewhat acquire. Particularly if I'm going to be going out and drinking regularly. Which it looks like might happen with these new-found friends) and we were there till about 2. They got to recount fun, crazy stories, I got to be amused. Not to profile, but Maura is the slightly slutty cute drunken one, Ross is the pseudo-intellectual one, Emily is the good friend one. I don't know where I fit into this yet, but I'm hoping very much that I do.
On the way back we stopped in at a bar that we had heard was "a hoppin' spot on the Boulevard". It was odd. There was loud mid-90's dance music, and two girls dancing on the bar. Emily and I left to go home, and on the way talked about theories of it being an above-ground underground gentlemans club, or something. Ross and Maura siad that it was a good time, in any case, though Ross seemed to primarily think that because of one of the bar-dancing girls in particular. They weren't dancing very well, though, when I was there. Barely moving, yet somehow still collecting dollar bills here and there. Anyway.
When we got home, Leslie was napping on the couch. I went and hid in my room, but I could hear her monolguing at Emily. It didn't sound like the happiest conversation.
Today I had to get up at freaking 10 am, which isn't too bad, except that I had been up till nearly three, and had worked most of the day. And being social wipes me out. Part of the reason I am not much of a social person. Though I do really like bars. Anyway.
I went to meet up with the Sunnyside Crew, as it were, three friends that a friend of mine in Berkeley put me in touch with. It was good, not as stiff as I expected. We talked about a bunch of stuff. They quized me on things. I broke down and told them all about circus and trapeze and juggling and theatre on and on. It was fun, though. There may be a Big Lebowski and bowling night in the works. I tend to get along with older guys and girls my own age better. By that I mean that I get along easier with Emily and Maura than with Ross, and then with this older crowd, I had an easier time talking to the two guys than with the girl, and they're all in their late 30's, early 40's. This is pretty typical of me, I've found, and I'm not sure why it is.
Ross, Maura, Emily and I had planned to go out to breakfast at about 1 today, and so walking back from meeting up with the Sunnyside Crew, I ran into them (which is good, because I was late, and hoping that I hadn't missed them) and we went to this fabulous great diner type place that had one of the best spinach and feta omelettes I've ever had. I'm sure it's partially due to the fact that I was really hungry. But it was still damn good and filling, and only 6 bucks.
So while we're there, we're tlaking about random stuff, and then Emily brings up what she and Leslie had been talking about the night before. Leslie, as I'm discovering, is a bit of a nutcase. She's grouchy because "now that [I] am here, you [Emily] are all social" which is the weirdest thing I've ever heard, because Emily has always gone and hung out with the neighbor friends, and they have come over here etc etc. So Leslie is feeling... threatened?left out?annoyed? something that Emily and I hang out together. I kind of understand her maybe feeling left out, but she wouldn't go with us if we invited her. She seems to want all three of us to have the same relationship, that relationship being one of slight avoidance and tolerance. But no actually being friends. Weird. So Emily and I are now, as fucking ridiculous as this is, going to be careful not to come in at the same time, or be watching tv together when Leslie gets hime, etc. Ridiculous. But better than dealing with passive/ouward aggression, I suppose. I don't know. I'm already scheming for when Emily and I can move out and live together. Or maybe Leslie will move out. Who the heck knows. I'm glad I took this apartment, I like the place, and my room and the neighborhood etc, and so one slightly psycho roommate is kind of okay. It's just a little... ridiculous. For lack of a better word.
And I get to go to an anti-valentines party this year. Fantastic.
I'm going to spend the rest of the day cleaning my room and watching my netflix movies, so I can get more and start working on my ridiculously long queue.
3:16 p.m.
prev :: next