dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

And it's lend me 10 pounds, and I'll buy you a drink

2007-01-15
I really like the apartment. It's not the most ideal, or the best price, but for some reason it totally appeals to me. The roommate was really nice (it's almost too bad that he's the one moving out, we got along really easily) and I'll meet the girl I'd be living with tomorrow or something. I have all sorts of high hopes. It's on the Upper East Side, and I'm a little surprised be myself because of this. Who the heck knows if the stereotypes are actually true, but it just sounds very not me. We'll see. I liked it, I liked the neighborhood, I'm close to Central Park, there's room for all my bookshelves. This is key.
So then the date. I'm really not sure what to say. One things for sure, I walked way too much. First off, I walked from 102nd and Lexington all the way down to 43rd and 5th to meet up with him at Grand Central. I looked it up later, and realized that that is a little over 3 miles. And then we walked all over the place. Down to 27th and 6th ave to get coffee, then up broadway to 57th, then over to 1st ave, then back to Grand Central. Which is another 3.5 or more miles. It was certainly one of the longest dates I've ever been on, from 7 to 11:30. It was good. I mean, I had fun. I liked him, he was good looking and interesting, there weren't any awkward pauses, at least not that I felt. He's 23 and teaches 1st grade, from which he had all sorts of awesome stories. Downside being that he lives and works in Connecticut. Oh well. He's got a lot of quirks. I mean, everyone has interesting facets and all, but he's one of the only genuinely quirky people I've ever met. But in a good way, and I liked talking to him. We ran into a few issues, particularly that he doesn't understand lighting in theatre. At all. I was trying to explain a light plot, but didn't have much success. He also doesn't read much fiction or watch many movies. I dunno. I felt pretty good about it overall. But I'm not sure how he felt. There was certainly a Moment when we said goodbye, but he didn't even try for a kiss. Also, didn't try to hold me hand at all. Maybe he's shy? Maybe I should have just gone for it? I don't know. I second guess myself all the time because I don't want to overstep, don't want to assume too much. So who knows, we'll see. But I'm very glad I went, rather than chickening out like I almost did. Hopefully I'll hear from him sometime today.
2:40 p.m.
prev :: next