dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

the trials of owning a previously owned and abused car

2003-09-26
So last weekend Jill and I fixed up my car. Towards the end of summer it was bucking a lot, like it would sit back on it's heels, then throw itself forward when you were accelerating. Lots of mini-whiplashes. So my dad and I changed the air filter. Wonder of wonders, now that enough clean air was able to get to the gas, they mixed in time to meet the spark, and it stopped. When Matt and I got to Seattle, I noticed an Arco gas station a block away. It's usually 20 cents cheaper, so I thought what the hell? The bucking promptly returned. Last weekend we went down to Spanaway, changed the oil, fuel filter, sparks, and then put in fuel injector cleaner and gas. Two blocks later, the car died. I had it towed to Seattle (thinking maybe the car was doing it for the free rides) asked around, and this morning had it towed to a mechanic recommended to me by Chris. The AAA guy showed up about 9:40. At 11:10, I get a call from the shop telling what the problem is and what they need to do and about how much. At about 1:25, I get another call saying they're done, and I can pick it up whenever. Holy shit that was fast. The fuel pump had died, so it almost positively had nothing to do with what Jill and I did to it, the pump was just waiting to kick out, so they has to drain the tank, and take it out, because the fuel pump is inside the tank. It's about $420, which kind of makes me want to cry, but hell, I'm getting my car back tonight, how awesome is that? Fortunately I took out an exorbitant amout in loans, so I'll be able to cover it.

We also went to Gasworks Park and ate pizza and ran around. Good times. Going to spend the rest of my day making a ball and scepter for them to use in rehearsals.

2:00 p.m.
prev :: next