dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

I say potato, but wait, you say it's not about potatoes...

2003-09-24
I speak a different language than Jill. WE get into conversations, and suddenly she's talking about something else. Example- when her sister got pregnant, she gave Jill this little hippo as a way of telling her she was going to be an aunt (a kid's toy, get it? It took me a little while). It's actually functunal, though. It says HOT on the bottom, and if the bath water is too hot for the kid, that turns white. She has it hanging in her car, and from a general hot atmosphere, the HOT is permanently white. For some reason we were talking about it, and she said "well, if you can't tell the water's too hot, you shouldn't have a kid" I thought this was unfair, as what's nice and warm for you could be hot for a baby, who's skin is much more sensitive. We argued this for a moment, until she said "she's had three younger siblings that she helped take care of, I think she'll know how hot the water should be" Is it just me, or did she change the point? This has been happening more, where I think we're still talking generalities, but she's switched to specifics. I tend to talk about what IS, while she talks about what SHOULD be. I dunno.

Anyway, I forgot, Darin, a very good friend of mine, best stage manager I've ever met, is now working as an event coordinator at Stanford. I haven't gotten to see him for quite a while, so it'll be good to see him when I go to visit Matt. Which might be sometime in October. I don't know, though, but we'll see.

Had a lighting test this morning. It was harder than I thought. Rather, because I knew some things so well, it was hard to put it into words. Also, some of the stuff I just didn't know to study. I skimmed it, but figured it wouldn't be that important. Oops. Oh well. I think I got about a B, which is fine. Okay, think that's all for today.

12:23 p.m.
prev :: next