dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

...came whiffling thru the tulgey wood, and burbled as it came...

2002-11-18
How is everyone this lovely rainy day? It took me forever to wake up this morning. Dragged myself out of bed at a little after 8, but I was still nearly falling asleep until a bit before noon, when we started covering cutting lists (for building things, you have to figure out how many pieves of what at what length you'll need, write it up as a list) which for some reason I'm good at, and woke me up. Good times. I brought Calvin and Hobbes in to show my H&S class, there was a strip that was relevant to the avant guarde world that I mentioned last class, and Lodi asked me to bring in. I just realized, going through my books, how defiecient my collection is. I'm missing quite a few. If anyone is tempted to get me anything for christmas or any other occasion, those would be more than welcome. And socks. I love socks. Jill gave me a bunch this morning, made me very happy.

We had the first production meeting for Closer Than Ever, the opera that I'm master electrician for, today. I'm so looking forward to it, cannot wait. Beth's really happy, too. Wow. I'm leaving in three days and some-odd hours, Whoa... That's really soon. Jill's going to stop by and make sure Tabitha doesn't get too lonely, so I don't feel as bad about leaving her for so long anymore. I'm going to be so busy when I'm back home, too. I think I have three out of ten days free, and that's the day, not free any nights, I don't think. This is a rambly entry, isn't it? Oh well, that's how my thoughts are going. I'm still kind of tired, though I'm not falling asleep like I was all through scenic fundamentals.

It's been so long since I've taken a plane. I like planes, but haven't been on one since...8th grade? No, seventh. I remember because it meant I didn't get to go to Yosemite that year, but I went the next. Need to write to my grandmother, cheer her up. Mom told me to drop her a note and stuff, so I will, good child that I am. I get to see Cirque du Soleil!!! How awesome is that? Mon oh man, I'm looking forward to that. Also to Splash, want to see Tracy's act especially. I want to see how different it is from when Chelsea directed it. Seeing it after cirque, htough, that'll be kind of harsh. Hope I won't unconciously compare the two.

I spent my entire weekend in purgatory. Otherwise known as costume shop. It was okay, but it's still mindnumbing work that leaves you're back aching. seam after seam after seam..... ick. But we got a lot done, I was kind of surprised. I guess now that it's over, it doesn't seem like it was that bad, but during, Jill and I kept giving each other the How-soon-can-I-shoot-myself look. Next semester I'll be doing actual work, though. building stuff. I'm looking forward to that, but at the same time, I'll have to be awake and focussed the whole time. Because you're sitting the entire time in costume shop, it's pretty easy to do it half asleep, but when you're moving and lifting things and using power tools, ya can't drift off. That luxury will be gone. Also, they don't feed you in shop, like they do in costume lab. Oh well. No great loss. Yep yep.

What else did I have to say? I'm not sure. Oh well, couldn't have been that important. I'll go now, if I remember, I'll write more later. I draft tonight, laundry tomorrow, see dance concert and pack wednesday, and fly thursday. Good times. Happiness.

1:55 p.m.
prev :: next