dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

27th-29th (aug)

2002-08-29
Okay, continuing the story of my kick ass day and adding details. Riding my bike in the morning sucks. It's a really good workout, though, and it's nice because I live over the hill from school, so going both ways I have all the uphill stuff, and then I get to coast the rest of the way. The weathers been abnormally warm, so I get to school all hot and sweaty. Ick. Oh well. Where was I last time? Oh! SO then in the afternoon, after we had the panel-ask-people-questions thing, we got to see this kick ass improv troupe, Jet City Improv. They rocked, funniest thing I've seen in a long time. I'm going to go see their show friday with a few people, including Jason, the guy I was sitting next to during it. He's an actor, nice guy. Turns out he's 27. I was so surprised by that. Not to say he looks young or anything, but he definitely didn't seem THAT old. THe only problem is that it's over in the University district, at 10 30 at night. Don't know how I'd get home again; here the busses stop sort of early, or at least, early comparted to AC Transit.

So after the show, I raced home to eat something before going over to Beths-she had invited a bunch of us over to just hang out. Tabitha came with me. It was a lot of fun, and they all liked Tabitha and she liked them. I was a little worried about that, because I'm going to school and have plenty of opportunities to make friends. Tabitha doesn't, as she's not even working right now. And when she does, the only people she'll really meet are the ones she works with, so I was a little worried about her feeling left out. But now I don't think that'll happen, so I'm happy. But yes, hanging out was fun. We got there at about 6 30 and didn't leave till 1 30 in the morning. It's so nice not to have to answer to parents. If I'm goint to be out late, I can just call Tab, and that's all. None of this "well, I don't know if you should be out that late, I think you should come home now" bullshit. I love it. Being able go about stuff as I feel is neccessary, and when I want to.

Then the next day (yesterday, 8-28) I had registration. Got the english class I wanted, yay. I was updating my journal in the computer lab at school when Beth turned to me and asked if I weanted to go out to lunch. SO I dropped this for more important human interaction, hehehe. IT's great, all up and down Broadway are the Arthur Murray dance feet, so every time we came to one, we'd figure out how to do it. It was so much fun. I really like Beth. I'm glad and a bit surprised that I made a friend that soon. I tend to be a bit shy early on. I hope this friendship lasts, though. A lot of times I've made friends right away, and they're really cool and we hang out all the time, but then after a few months we drift apart. It's just this intense period that fizzles out. Hope that doesn't happen this time. Then I went home, hung out there for the rest of the evening. I'm reading Memoirs of a Geisha. Very good book. It is however, like She's Come Undone, another womans narrative written by a man. Now that Matt pointed that out to me, I keep thinking about it. I guess he's right, what right do men have to be writing this, but the thing is, it's so well written. It feels like it's written by a woman. Both of them do. I wonder if women have written any books using male voices. I'll have to look. Be interesting to read that and ask a guy if it's accurate.

It was so disgustingly hot last night. Tabitha and I were up till 2 talking, because it was simply too hot to sleep. She got all sad when she realized I was going to be gone for a while in November. Over a week, I think. I feel bad, abandoning her like that, but I miss Matt so much. You know the phantom limb syndrome? Well, I have phantom boyfriend syndrome. At night I can feel him curled up against my back, one arm over my side. I hate it, I miss him so much it's almost a physical ache. Can't wait till school starts so I can be distracted.

We finally fell asleep, though. Slept in. Went to Planned Parenthood, where I was able to pick up a years worth of Ortho Tricyclene. I was amazed that you could do that. Tabitha amazingly made an appointment. She just wants it for the good side effects, though. Now here I am writing this, and then we're going to go food shopping, yay! So I go now, this was the update. I'll add the thoughts later, as this is mainly just a list of what I did.

2:08 p.m.
prev :: next