dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

Catching up

2002-07-18
I haven't written here in quite a while, and it feels a little odd to be back. Quite a lot has happened, though, and I figure I should update everyone. Not that anyone reads this, but that's besides the point.

I haven't been to fencing in a long time. I had to miss a few classes because of shows, and it got harder and harder to go back with every class that I missed, and eventually I just admitted that I wasn't going to go back. I sort of miss it, but not all that much. It was a good workout, and I liked a lot of the people, but I don't know that I was focussed enough. It was also so one sided, and from circus I'm accustomed to working symetrically. I would have had to buy almost a whole left sided set of equiptment to be able to work my left as well. I have been going back to circus, however. There's a new director. I really like her, I think that she's what Splash needed. I like how she goes about doing things and how she lets people focus on their specialties more. Chelsea was a good director, and I miss a few things about her teaching, but in general I think that Stephanie does a better job. She expects more of the kids, in a way. This is most noticeable in warm ups. Instead of us being in a circle and one person leading, everyone is responsible for their own stretches. She let everyone know what she expected from the beginning, but then it was up to them to get it done. It's somehow both a lot freer and more focussed. The only thing I don't like is that she isn't a juggler, so they don't really do that at all. But Tracy, Alexis and I think Zina are doing a juggling thing every Saturday with Chelsea. So that's fine.

Changing subjects, I'm nervous about college. For a number of reasons. Macklin just sent in his application about a week and a half ago, so we won't know for a while when and if he's going to be coming with us, so Tabitha and I are kind of stuck and worrying about finding an apartment. We're probably going to go up to Seattle the first weekend of August to go look for places. I'm kind of worried about school in general, too. What's that going to be like? What will the other techies be like? Will they respect me? Will it be like Sota? Am I going to be able to keep up in my classes? I tend to slack off in areas that I'm not as good in, knowing that I can compensate by my skill in others, but I don't think I can get away with that in college. It's going to be hard to change that. We'll see.

Yet another reason for my apprehension is Matt. My boyfriend. I finally realized what everyone else saw before me, which was that Alex was a dickwad and not worth the amout of energy and frustration that I was putting in. This happily coincided with Matt making it clear that he was interested in me. He's the best thing that has ever happened to me. I'm using his laptop to write this. He's wonderful and fantastic and amazingly enough he seems to think the same thing of me. He does all sorts of little things that make me love him more every day. He holds my hand a lot, kisses it. Sometimes I'll look up and he's watching me with a little happy smile, and when I ask what he's grinning about, his response is "Nothing, just enjoying the company" or "Nothing, just I like you" A while ago he brought me flowers, got irises because he knew I liked blue, but he didn't know that irises are my favorite flower as well. I told him that later, and then for our one month anniversary, he brought me them again. He remembers stuff like that. Very very sweet man. And he's a man, not a guy or a boy. It's very nice. I am rapidly falling in love with him. Here's the catch. He's 24. A bit of an age difference, but that doesn't matter to us. But he can't come up to Seattle with me. Not only does he have a steady job, but he's going to be going to graduate school next year. So I don't know what's going to happen. We decided that we weren't going to discuss what was going to happen for about another month. I don't want to lose him. We're compatable. So I'm kind of worried about all that. I don't know. I should just enjoy here and now, not worry about all that. He's always so happy when I stay the night. I did last night. It's so nice to wake up next to some one, their arm flung over you. To be that warm and content and relaxed and happy. hmmmmmmm. Yes. Well. Enough of me mooning over him.

I think that's all I had to catch up on. If I think of something else, I'll write later.

9:16 a.m.
prev :: next