dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

Went on a nicking spree

2006-12-13
I hate that I get paid for theatre work. Okay, not really, but kind of. In the first place, it just seems sort of unreal that I can get paid for something that I like so much. (note- being paid for electrician overhire stuff is totally different. I'm talking about design stuff.) I emailed my favorite designer about work that he might have for me, and he wrote back saying yeah, I may have some plans for you to put into vectorworks, and a rough plot to work on. And at first I got the giddy rush of oh-how-cool-I-love-doing-this-kind-of-thing and then I thought "but he has to pay me, how awwkward". I don't want to get paid to do this. I love it. Who wants to get paid for doing something that they really truly absolutely love?* But I don't really want to do anything else, and I still have to pay rent, so...

*Okay, I'm sure lots of people do. And actually, I think it's pretty great that I do, too. But I do feel a little guilty for it. And moreover, I feel guilty because I like this designer as a person, and friend, and until now, I worked with him in the context of my internship, and so it was free. And now he's going to be handing me money, and I have no idea what a fair price is, and it just makes me feel kind of avaricious and mean. But this is how it works, right? So I'm really not out of line. I just have to start owning it.

11:01 a.m.
prev :: next