dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

He pours a cider drink

2006-12-13
I wasted a bunch of time tonight. But it was okay. Jill organized an "Anne-Marie and 'me' are leaving forever, let's go to the deluxe" party. It was an odd group of people who showed up. Going around the table that we ended up at- Dante, Anne-Marie, Beth, Jason, Jill, Holly, me, Ian. I haven't seen Beth since I briefly saw her at a preview of my show. And before that, since the end of junior year, so about 17 months. 18? I don't know. But it wasn't as bad as I thought. I played a game of pool with Ian, and ultimately won, kind of. He knocked the 8 ball in once, and scratched on the 8 twice, I knocked it in once. So by the time we gave up, he lost three times, and I lost once, so I guess I won, though he was doing much better throughout the game than I was.
We ate dinner and talked about theatre, and everyone tried to look impressive, and Jill and I rolled our eyes at each other behind Holly's back. Beth and Dante talked a lot about grad school, Dante and Ian and I talked about Gatsby and moving lights. Everyone talked about the other Jason and drugs for a while. Ian paid for dinner, which was awesome. Dante couldn't thank him enough for it. Then, on the way out, we run into Chris, which sucked. I wanted to sit at the bar and have another drink, but no. I didn't want to see him at all, he's been pissing me off a lot lately, by being a negative asshole and pissing on everything I might be excited about. So we sat at some table and made small talk, then I hugged the bartender (my third favorite. The first I never got around to seeing this trip, and the second works at a place I don't really like, and so never go. Dang) and went to Jason and Holly's where everyone was doing shots of rum. Eh. And Chris followed us. Eh. Whatever. I hung out there as long as I had to, and then walked home.
It was a better-than-expected night, and it was nice to have a bunch of people that I've known for five years all together, but it wasn't that great of a night. But there were definitely good moments, and I don't hang out with that large a group usually, and I think I'd like to more. I need to work on being more sociable. Goal for New York.
Oh- also, I got to introduce Dante and Anne-Marie to a really good non-alcoholic drink, Dr. Pepper and pomegranate juice. It's actually really good. It was invented when Jill and I were hanging out teasing my favorite bartender, Jabe, back when he worked there, about critiquing his drinks. And as a joke, I pointed to my Dr. Pepper and said "yeah, I think this need a little more red in it" to which he picked up his drink button-nozzle thing, and put a bunch of pomegranate juice in it. Genius. Total accident. I love it. Tip- there should be more Dr pepper, something like a 2/1 ratio, maybe 3/1. Somewhere around there.


Update- it's 5 30 am and I have not gone to sleep yet. I'm not sure that I should. Actually, I know I shouldn't. I've been packing all night. And doing laundry. That slowed the packing a little. That and the fact that I don't know if I have the apartment yet, so I don't know if my kitchen stuff should be separated into take and store or if it should all go together. but as of now,, all my clothes are packed excpet my bathrobe and two coats, and what I'm wearing the next two days.Books, records, music, art supplies, hair stuff is packed. It's really just details. And Jill is taking my bed, so I don't have to worry about taking care of that. I'm tired, really tired, but I worry that if I go to sleep, I won't be able to wake up, and I have a bunch of school stuff to do. Stupid portfolio. Stupid me not taking home the list of label-type stuff so I could type it up tonight. Stupid section work for not doing itself, and for letting me ignore it this long. Oh well. I'm so close to being done I want to cry. It's very odd that I'll be done, that it won't be hanging over my head any more. I had a year of freedom, yes, but I always knew I was coming back. And now I'm hitting the very last crunch of 4 and a half years of my life. That's a hefty chunk, given my age. I have been trying to not be in school since 8th grade. I'm finally going to succeed. I emailed Fred about stopping quickly to see him on saturday, and he hasn;t emailed me back. In fact, this is the third email in about as many weeks that I haven't heard back from. This is a little weird. Granted, the last time her replied, it took him about a week and a half, so maybe he's just really swamped. I have 7.5 days worth of music on my ipod. Good gravy.
11:28 p.m.
prev :: next